Give Thanks and Git-‘er-Done To-Do List — The Results

At the beginning of November I predicted a few things that would get accomplished on the ever evolving to-do list.

The dining room table looks fairly bare until we loaded it up with bowls and plates of food.
The dining room table looks fairly bare until we loaded it up with bowls and plates of food.

We spent Thanksgiving Day with just our son and his wife.  Although we invited quite a few other people everyone ended up celebrating with their own kinfolk which is always a blessing.

I arranged white roses with yard clippings of pine, boxwood, and holly.
I arranged white roses with yard clippings of pine, boxwood, and holly.

The menu:

  • Chesapeake Roasted Turkey

    The turkey was rubbed with a spice mix including "Old Bay".
    The turkey was rubbed with a spice mix including “Old Bay”.
  • Gravy

    The turkey pan drippings made rich gravy.
    The turkey pan drippings made rich gravy.
  • Herbed bread dressing
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Candied sweet potatoes
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Cauliflower with cheese sauce
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts

    After roasting the Brussels sprouts were tossed with balsamic vinegar.
    After roasting the Brussels sprouts were tossed with balsamic vinegar.
  • Pumpkin pie with whipped cream

Enough frivolity, now for the project list:

The siding for the entire exterior of the house is painted "Sandy Hook Gray".
The siding for the entire exterior of the house is painted “Sandy Hook Gray”.

1. We finished painting the exterior of the house.

The tiler
The tile installation is scheduled for November December — let’s get started!

2. The bathrooms were scheduled to be tiled in November. We had to start over finding a new tile setter. So the bathrooms are still untiled.

I've signed and returned the estimate omitting the Cottage water heater for now.
I signed a contract with the plumber who will install shower fixtures if the tile ever gets laid.

3. As soon as the tile is laid and grouted, we’ve signed with the plumber to install the shower fixtures in both new bathrooms. This should have happened in November but alas, it did not.

The left-hand side of the bedroom bookshelves has been built and set in place.
The left-hand side of the bedroom bookshelves has been built and set in place.

4. The bookshelves in the master bedroom are in the same state of undone as they were at the beginning of the month.

5. I finished writing all the narration for two Christmas programs which hangs over my head until it is printed on paper.

I'm working my way around the dining room with blue wallpaper. Planning on finishing before Christmas.
I’m working my way around the dining room with blue wallpaper. Planning on finishing before Christmas.

6. After Thanksgiving I started working on the dining room wallpaper again.

Charlie added cement board to the bathroom knee walls.
Charlie added cement board to the bathroom knee walls.

7. And Charlie finished a few details in the bathrooms to get them totally ready for the tile setter.  I’m making book on whether he will actually show up in December.

Charlie planted 3 oak leaf hydrangeas near the front of the house.
Charlie planted 3 oak leaf hydrangeas near the front of the house.

8. Charlie planted four hydrangea cuttings that had been recently rooted — 3 in front of the house and one near the back steps.

My plan to take the month off from renovation projects is not very realistic at this point. If I can finish wallpapering in the next 2 weekends, I’m hoping to have a small party some time between Christmas and New Year’s Day.

What’s your favorite party dish?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Give Thanks and Git-‘er-Done To-Do List — The Results”

    1. I totally don’t care how people see the house (obviously since I post the worst of it on the blog). It more has to do with my energy level or lack thereof. I AM feeling pretty sprightly. I know when I have a party I not only have to prepare but also be the coordinator. Ham is on the menu — what else? Jo

  1. I just polished off the last of the leftovers today, but your pix make me want another T-day dinner!
    I think you’ve earned some DIY time off in December. Slow down and enjoy the beauty of the season, your family, and friends! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.