I Saw It on Craigslist

My conservatory is full of windows.

The conservatory has 2 walls of windows.
The conservatory has 2 walls of windows.

The walls are green; the ceiling and sofas are blue.

Why do I search for things that I don't need?
Why do I search for things that I don’t need?

For no apparent reason and out of the blue I searched “stained glass” on Craigslist.

The photos aren't great but these would be perfect in the conservatory.
The photos aren’t great but these would be perfect in the conservatory.

I shouldn’t have because now I want this pair of windows to hang in the windows of the conservatory.

The kitchen is Waterbury Cream which is an amber tone.
The kitchen is Waterbury Cream which is an amber tone.

All the colors are perfect even the pale amber ground color that echoes our kitchen (which can be seen from the conservatory).

I had to splice together 2 photos to get this one of an entire window.
I had to splice together 2 photos to get this one of an entire window.

The owner of said windows is an hour’s drive which I would undertake.

I think the window would look wonderful.
I think the window would look wonderful.

However the price is $350. What kind of offer should I make?

The dining room is a mess of paint cans, wallpaper supplies, ladders, foosball table !!!
The dining room is a mess of paint cans, wallpaper supplies, ladders, foosball table !!!

I can’t really justify a $350 decorative purchase when I have so much to purging to do not to mention expenses to finish the unfinished bits of the house.

I still have 2 large bathrooms to tile -- $$$$$
I still have 2 large bathrooms to tile — $$$$$

What would you do?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

17 thoughts on “I Saw It on Craigslist”

  1. No advice on the window price – they are truly lovely and will you dream about them forever if you don’t try for them? When looking a the table nook in the kitchen, I had a sudden flashback to your old kitchen. Oh my, you’ve come so far!

    1. Thanks, Barbara. The old kitchen was truly nasty and we’re so blessed to have this new space. We enjoy it everyday — it’s the kitchen. Jo

  2. Have you tried doing some research on DIY stained glass windows? Just a thought, maybe you can replicate the look for a fraction of the cost. Try looking on Pinterest. Stained glass or not, that is a beautiful room!!

    1. Thanks for even hinting that I might have the skill to do stained glass . . . let alone the patience. I’m not even sure I need any more embellishment in the room, I just like stained glass. Jo

  3. Maybe do some research and make sure that’s a fair price for stained glass. Also you could see if the seller would meet you half way to lower your gas expenses. When I’m struggling on if something is worth the cost I usually talk to my boyfriend and when he knows it is something I really would love he tells me to treat myself.

  4. I was afraid someone would say “What a deal!” I’m hoping since they have been listed for about a month the sellers will be willing to negotiate with me. Of course I would like to have them for $100 each. Jo

  5. These are lovely and perfect for your conservatory. I would look on eBay for comparisons, but if they’re in the ballpark, I’d snap them up. I think they probably are. I have two small unmatched stained glass windows hanging in my kitchen that were about $125 apiece. These are twice as tall as mine. I’m sure having the pair makes them more valuable, too.

  6. I have no idea of what the price should be in the US. Here they are often quite pricey as well… And I have no idea exactly how much your bathrom will cost, I know that renovation means sometimes not to buy everything we want… They are absolutely lovely, though, and the detail in the middle is cute as can be.

Leave a Reply

