The Dining Room is Coming Along — For Real

This is a view of the dining room in June of 2014.

A reminder of dining room wallpaper pattern.
A reminder of dining room wallpaper pattern.

I’m finally back on the project and made some headway yesterday on the dining room wallpaper.

The dining room on Saturday afternoon with only the wallpapering supplies.
The dining room on Saturday afternoon with only the wallpapering supplies.

Clearing the dining room for Thanksgiving dinner gave me the opportunity to set up my wallpapering tools on the table while it was still cleared off.

I've begun to hang the wallpaper.
I had begun hanging wallpaper back in July. The ceiling and adjacent wall are painted Revere Pewter.

Having started in the corner near the kitchen I’m working my way around the room clockwise.

I papered the header above the kitchen counter and trimmed the pieces after hanging them all.
I papered the header above the kitchen counter and trimmed the pieces after hanging them all.

I bought a pack of 100 utility knife blades so I can make clean cuts without tearing the wallpaper.

One wall complete.
One wall complete.

The contrasting wallpaper above the newly-painted vintage tongue-and-groove paneling outlines the kitchen opening.

I like the drama of this dark blue and black striated paper.
I like the drama of this dark blue and black striated paper.

I worked around another corner until it was too dark to see the details. Two down, two to go.

The whole dining room list looks like this:

Do you like dramatic color schemes or soft transitions?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “The Dining Room is Coming Along — For Real”

  1. You are coming along on this project! I think you’ll be pretty relieved once the wallpaper is all up. It’s looking good, Jo.

Leave a Reply

