Ugh!!! Not Again

Back when we were first starting our extensive renovation we hired a contractor who after a month or so told us he couldn’t do the job.

White basketweave tile from Home Depot.
White basketweave tile from Home Depot.

At that time we were kind of devastated but we went back to the second choice.  It was touch-and-go whether he would take the contract but he did and we were happy with the work.

Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.
Marble tile on the floor and white ice matte subway on the shower walls.

The same thing has happened again; this time with the tile setter. (Yes, I know you’re either gasping in disbelief or crying for me.) We’ve been on the schedule for over a month. Here’s his email:

Hi Jo and Charlie.

I wanted to email you and let you know that I won’t be able to do the work. I will send you the drain grates for both showers.  I am sorry for the inconvenience but I figured this would give you time to find someone else. I am also dealing with some personal health problems that I am trying to straighten out. One of my guys have also decided to leave and not work with us and puts me in a bad spot. I think he was just tired of doing the work. So that puts me way behind. You are not the only ones that I have to cancel there are several others also. My doctor says it’s a good idea to take a break and get everything straightened out and just handle the small jobs for now. It’s a combination of too much work and stress I believe.  So again I am sorry to have to do this. I was looking forward to doing the work. I wish you guys the best

Thanks again Rod.

Can you believe it?

Do you experience déjà vu ?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

14 thoughts on “Ugh!!! Not Again”

  1. Jo – I feel for you. If you are a home owner and get by with a couple bad sub contractors – count yourself lucky. I’ve had three really bad ones that have cost me over 25k in extra expense. One even stole power tools. Contractors have some influence over the subs, as it’s steady work – a home owner has one job for the sub, so it’s easy for him to walk away.

    1. So far all my subs have come recommended so I haven’t had a negative monetary result, just a time wastage that wouldn’t have happened. Mentally it takes its toll on me. Jo

    1. True and no money expended. I printed the entire email because as I read it I was sure it was a lie — too many excuses. I know my plumber asked him to finish an unstarted bathroom before Thanksgiving. How much do you want to bet that’s getting done? Jo

  2. Awww man, that sucks! I think that’s the biggest problem when hiring people to do work for you. We hired a landscaper and his team to tackle our garden, we’re now into week 6 of a 4 week project with at least another week expected. I still have the fear he’s not going to finish the job and just up and leave with it all half finished :/

    I hope you find someone who can and will do it! x

  3. Noooo!! Dealing with subcontractors really can suck. I hope you find someone good, and soon. I know how anxious you are to get the bathrooms done! It takes the patience of a saint sometimes!

Leave a Reply

