Thanksgiving Menu

Last year for Thanksgiving we had a before-noon open house with a brunch menu for any friends that wanted to stop by.

I'll be looking for my Red Wing stag to use as a centerpiece. I've stashed it away for safe-keeping.
I’ll be looking for my Red Wing stag to use as a centerpiece. I’ve stashed it away for safe-keeping.

This year we’re planning a sit-down mid-afternoon dinner for 6 or 8 people. Last Christmas we had dinner for 6 and it was just about perfect.

Last Thanksgiving we had a breakfast buffet open house at The Glade.
Last Thanksgiving we had a breakfast buffet open house at The Glade.

If it becomes more people than that then we’ll serve and eat buffet-style.

We can use the kitchen island as a buffet station for both hot and cold foods.
We can use the kitchen island as a buffet station for both hot and cold foods.

If we serve a buffet we’ll set it up in the kitchen and eat at the dining room table.

I think I'll use my
I think I’ll use my “Annapolis Blue” china by Lenox.

I get a turkey from work around the 18th of November so turkey will definitely be on the menu. I like to make plenty of side dishes so I won’t have to actually cook for the rest of the weekend.

Here’s the menu:

  • Turkey with dressing and cranberry sauce

    I'll definitely be making cranberry relish from scratch.
    I’ll definitely be making cranberry relish from scratch.
  • Candied sweet potatoes
  • Mashed potatoes and gravy
  • Cauliflower with cheese sauce
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts
  • Peas and carrots
  • Good bread
  • Pumpkin custard with whipped cream

I’ll probably need some light hors d’oeuvres before dinner starts.  I don’t want anyone to come to table unhungry.

I'll make pumpkin pie without crust and serve them in custard cups with whipped cream.
I’ll make pumpkin pie without crust and serve them in custard cups with whipped cream.

My next steps are to invite people, then to make a comprehensive grocery list and check the local flyers for good sales.

The dining room will need to be cleaned among other things.
The dining room will need to be cleaned among other things.

I’m going to take D’Arcy’s advice and focus on the dining room. This should be fun.

A special thanks on this Veteran’s Day to all who have served our country to ensure our freedom.

What’re your favorite light hors d’oeuvres?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Menu”

  1. Haha–now you’re motivated! 🙂 Isn’t it great to have all that yummy food left over after T-day? Maybe that’s why it’s my favorite meal to cook!

  2. i love the idea of an open house brunch like you did last year – i think that must have been before i found your blog b/c i don’t remember that. your meal this year sounds perfect!

    1. I’m not a huge turkey fan so I try to include as many vegetables as possible. I do like a turkey sandwich with mayonnaise and cranberry sauce, however. Jo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.