The Plan; The Reality

Charlie and I took in a late service on Christmas eve and planned to take it easy on Christmas Day.  I was going to hang a couple of framed brass rubbings and maybe wash a window.

I put the arrow over he window which desperately needs cleaning.
I put the arrow over the window which desperately needs cleaning.

There would be only two of us for dinner and we’d have the steaks my sister sent.

My sister also sent a blue Eiffel Tower and peacock ornaments in my blue/green Christmas color scheme.
My sister also sent a blue Eiffel Tower and peacock ornaments in my blue/green Christmas color scheme.

At 10:30 in the morning our son called to say his plans had changed and they had no dinner arrangements. I asked him, his wife and friend to come to our house.  Then I called my best friend to find out if she had plans for dinner.  She also was available.

My friend is often the life of the party.
My friend is often the life of the party.

All of a sudden a laid back holiday for two turned into a full-fledged holiday dinner for six.  We ate like kings and had lots of good fun and plenty of talk.

A full freezer is a boon for spontaneous dinner party.
A full freezer is a boon for spontaneous dinner party.

I can only say how grateful I was for a fridge full of food and a freezer full of steaks.

Even though red was not in my Christmas repertoire this year I made an exception for the dinner table.
Even though red was not in my Christmas repertoire this year I made an exception for the dinner table.

I asked Charlie to get his grandmother’s Christmas dishes from the attic and we set the table with a vintage green and red tablecloth and Spode Christmas Tree dishes.

Christmas Tree by Spode
Christmas Tree by Spode

The impromptu menu was as follows:

  • Filet mignon and New York strip steaks
  • Candied sweet potatoes
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Broccoli with cheese sauce
  • Peas
  • Gravy
  • Hot rolls

We ate so much that cappuccini and chocolate truffles were sufficient for dessert.

Did you have a big meal?  What was your favorite dish?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “The Plan; The Reality”

  1. What a delightful turn of events for your Christmas day dinner. The table looks lovely. My “twin” sister, born 7 years after me on my birthday, and I had creamed tuna with peas on toast. It was a childhood favorite that neither of us had had in a long time and was delicious. A perfect meal for the quiet Christmas that we both desired this year.

Leave a Reply

