Getting Ready for a Party – Setting Up

Although I still have a mighty cough, everything else is converging toward the positive.

2-1/2 dozen supermarket roses for less than $25.
2-1/2 dozen supermarket roses for less than $25.

First of all, my grocery shopping for the party is finished including two and a half dozen pink roses.  My color scheme for this Christmas is blue/green/silver but I thought a warm color other than red would complete the look.

Some pink candles would be festive.
Some pink candles would be festive.

I’ll be using pink roses, pink candles, and pink napkins.

Pink table linens will look gorgeous with out white china decorated with a cobalt rim.
Pink table linens will look gorgeous with our white china decorated with a cobalt rim.

Second, my boss told me not to come in today.  So, woo-hoo, I have another whole day to decorate and cook for our party.

Annapolis Blue china by Lenox
Annapolis Blue china by Lenox

Third, tonight is our final Christmas cantata.  I’ll be conducting the choir and acting as worship leader and when it’s over I can relax for the rest of the weekend. There’s just one small riff that I hope I can drill into Charlie’s brain (he’s the accompanist) before we perform.

I painted this small ceramic Christmas tree a few years ago.
I painted this small ceramic Christmas tree a few years ago.

Merry Christmas, Friends.

Do you have a favorite seasonal song?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Getting Ready for a Party – Setting Up”

  1. Merry Christmas, Jo and Charlie. I hope your cough slips away quickly and you feel 100% soon, Jo. It looks like you’ll have a lovely setting for your party. The roses are gorgeous.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.