Quote Challenge #1

I’ve been nominated by The Project Patrol to give a favorite quote 3 days in a row.  This I can do.  I’ll try to incorporate a little additional information to each post for readers who are more into DIY than philosophy.

“The things you take for granted someone else is praying for.”

I take so many things for granted: reading, writing, thinking, money .  .  . I know people for whom those things are not even a priority because they don’t have health or shelter or sustenance.

The anchor is a symbol of hope.
The anchor is a symbol of hope.

We are all challenged in some way; what’s easy for me is difficult for you (and vice versa).  One thing I am fully blessed with is HOPE.  It’s the feature that keeps me praying for the people and situations that confront me negatively.  It’s why I can take things, important things, for granted.

This is not my normal graphic but you get the picture.
This is not my normal graphic but you get the picture.

I’m also supposed to nominate 3 more people to participate.  That’s a tough one but I nominate Jessica at Cape of Dreams, Lansdowne Revisited, and Magali at The Little White House on the Seaside. Do it or don’t to the degree you’d care to participate. (Wish my sister had a blog; I’d want her to participate.) Do you have one overriding quote that sums it up for you?

The 36
The 36″ wide traditional 6-panel door on the left cost $140.39 while the Shaker-style doors were $272.98 each.

In the mean time I thought I’d break down the cost of the new pre-hung doors since I just received the itemized invoice in the mail. In addition to the conservatory doors pictured above the hardware was about $25 on the traditional door and $2.19 each for the pewter handles on the closet doors.

The Shaker-stile door on the master closet cost $267.02 and the door on the right $129.96.
The Shaker-style door on the master closet cost $267.02 and the door on the right $129.96.

The bedroom doors were each a little cheaper than those in the conservatory because they were a smaller size. The handles for each style cost the same as above.

What are you blessed with in full measure?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Quote Challenge #1”

  1. I love that quote. I try to remember every day all the things I am thankful for, including a safe place to live, a quiet work environment, the river right outside the house, a car that runs, money in the bank, food in the fridge/pantry, etc. It’s easy to forget that many people don’t have those things or if they do, they can’t take them for granted.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.