Quote Challenge #2

I’ve been nominated by The Project Patrol to give a favorite quote for The Quote Challenge.  (Yesterday’s Quote.) This challenge suggests the nominees to do the following:

  • Post your 3 favorite quotes, one each for three consecutive days.
  • With each post nominate three bloggers for the challenge.
  • Recognize the blogger who nominated you.
This is not my normal graphic but you get the picture.
The Quote Challenge leads one to think philosophically.

All of us get complimented from time to time for the things we do. And if we have done the work and if we are in agreement, we can accept the compliment graciously or at least humbly.  But since we generally know if there is a flaw in the work or we were not completely prepared (for a performance), we often grimace and mumble thank you (or worse, make an excuse why it wasn’t so good) leaving our admirer feeling reprimanded for his expression of gratitude.

Even when it comes easy it takes work.
Even when it comes easy it takes work.

Michelangelo said (in Italian, I presume): “If you knew how much work went into it you wouldn’t call it genius.” Over the years I have learned to say “thank you” to people who have admired my skills even when I have felt lacking.  But I must agree with Michelangelo that it is the work, the process, the thought, the study, the preparation, and the willingness to do it that creates what we observe as genius.

The face of Michelangelo's David which is in a museum in Florence, Italy.
The larger-than-life-size face of Michelangelo’s David which is in a museum in Florence, Italy.

Michelangelo has been quoted on this same subject  (scroll down the page to see his quotes) in various forms but it always comes back to setting our goals high and doing the work to achieve them.

The Sistine Chapel ceiling in the Vatican in Rome.
The Sistine Chapel ceiling in the Vatican in Rome.

Do I want to be a genius: NO!  Do I want to be admired by others for my work? No.  Do I want to do the work to transform the gifts I’ve been given into something beautiful and practical and memorable? YES.

The Pieta in Saint Peter's Basilica in Vatican City.
The Pieta in Saint Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City.

And I see so many of you trying to do the same thing. Hang in there.

Would these look delicious on my bed?
Would these look delicious on my bed?

On a homemaking note I have been looking for pale pink king-sized sheets at a reasonable price. I ordered a set from Amazon for $54.99 with free shipping less a $15 gift card (which I was unaware I owned) that look pale pink in the photo with a color name of “Blush”.  We’ll see if they are the ticket when they arrive next week.

Do you have a certain genius for something?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Quote Challenge #2”

  1. No genius here, but the quote is just perfect! Hard work has always been my best teacher. Aaaaand I can’t wait to see those sheets with your comforter.

Leave a Reply

