My Favorite French Things

It’s been six months since we were in Paris and I am longing to go back. It was stunning in the fall, I know it’s breathtaking in spring. Since I’ve been thinking about France recently (and every time I see someone standing in front of a Paris landmark giving a television interview like I did this morning at the gym),  I got to thinking about the French things I like.

     1. Markets – Fruit/vegetable markets, cheese markets, meat markets, market day

Market vegetable stand

2.  Guerlain

 

3. Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower

4. Bakeries

Pastry shops on every corner and so much from which to choose.

5. Lavender

We try to grow lavender at The Glade; in France it's an industry.

6. Coffee

Coffee (cafe) in France is serious as evidenced by the machines and baristas.

7. Bistros/Brasseries

Cafe surrounded by wine experts.

8. Metro

We went everywhere on Le Metro.

9. Gardens

French potager

10. People

A fabulous, friendly Parisienne.

I had a grand time in France and would love to return. The people of France treated us very kindly and went out of their way to accommodate us. It’s true! Now that we’ve done all the tourist things, we could concentrate on the details of French living. 

Where would you go? What would you do there?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

One thought on “My Favorite French Things”

  1. Great post! I loved Paris – even though I was only there for a barely three days. I would be a classic tourist if I were to go back – just because I wasn’t able to the first time round.
    OH and I would drown myself in their pastries, chocolate, coffee and all sorts of food…. yum.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.