It’s the Little Things That Make Life Livable — Or NOT

One of the things that has been wonderful about our renovation (other than the entire thing) is that the new rooms are up to code in terms of number and placement of electrical outlets and lighting switches. (Once upon a time I had few good nasty thoughts about “code”.)

A light  and receptacle (bottom left of the door) are provided on the master bedroom private porch.
A light and receptacle (bottom left of the door) are provided on the master bedroom private porch.

Even outside we have a double receptacle at each door including the door to the bedroom from the second floor porch deck.

Ceiling fixtures are in the master bedroom adjoining hall.
Ceiling fixtures are in the master bedroom adjoining hall.

All the permanent fixtures work and shed sufficient light.

Many of the rooms now have multiple switches.
Many of the rooms now have multiple switches.  The switch on the right controls one outlet in the conservatory.

Each room has a switch that controls one electrical receptacle so a lamp may be plugged in and the switch used for immediate light upon entry to the room.  In some of the old rooms the light switch controls all the receptacles so if the switch is turned off so is the computer router, air conditioner, etc. Not very convenient.

This lamp turns on with a wall switch at the bedroom door.
This lamp turns on with a wall switch at the bedroom door.

Awhile ago I rewired these vintage Limoges lamps.  Charlie’s lamp is on the entry switch to the bedroom and works great.

I rewired this old lamp myself but should have changed the pull chain to a switch.
I rewired this old lamp myself but should have changed the pull chain to a switch.

I have to use one of the pull chains on my lamp to light up the bulbs.  It’s not easy and sometimes I pull the bulb out of the socket.

Both sides light up again.
Both sides light up again.

Recently I took the shade off to secure these sockets again since the pull chain is my only resource for turning on this lamp (unless I use a plug strip with a switch. Why didn’t I think of that before?)

This small lamp has a thumb control on the wire to turn it on and off.
This small lamp has a thumb control on the wire to turn it on and off.
Just enough light.
Just enough light.

In the mean time I’ve added a small shell lamp to my side table that has 2 levels of brightness which is often perfect for the bedroom especially in the middle of the night when I just need a glow to let me see what I need (like a dose of cough medicine).

It's convenient to have both lights on my side table.
It’s convenient to have both lights on my side table.

All bedroom lights are in working order once again.  The convenience is wonderful.

What convenience do you take for granted?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things That Make Life Livable — Or NOT”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.