Bamboozling: How to Build a Bamboo Trellis

We showed you our garden support system made wholly of bamboo trellises that we fashion from bamboo and jute twine.

Garden after the rain with trellises in place

 Perhaps a tutorial is in  order.  When I first started making these trellises I got the idea from a story many years ago in Martha Stewart Living magazine.  Who else but Martha would have something like this?

Bamboo Factory

 First we get out bamboo from a neighbor who is happy to have the dead wood from his bamboo forest thinned each year. 

Cut the poles to length with a saw or secatur

 Then we cut six (or eight) poles per trellis to approximately the same length (somewhere betwen 8 and 12 feet depending on the poles we have). Accurate measuring is not necessary.

Supplies in front - Must have a ladder!

 Tie pairs or triads together by winding twine around them. 

Tying the joint with twine

 We used to be much more precise but have realized over the past few years that lots of twine and fancy lashing just aren’t necessary.  

Tying top crossbar onto frame

 Stick the untied ends of the bamboo in the dirt and lash crossbars across the top and bottoms.

Tie crossbars at the base for stability

 It’s not necessary for the bamboo poles to be uniform in diameter or even totally straight.

All these poles were utilised, even the crooked one.

 After the basic shape is erect, string the entire form with 6-8 verticle twine climbers.  Tie at the bottom and go over the top bar and tie on the oppposite side.

Stringing the trellis for maximum vine climbing

 This basic A-shape trellis is great for cucumbers, pole beans or any vining vegetable (or flower, if you’re into that sort of thing. I am, but Charlie is certainly not going to waste time or energy on trellising flowers.)

Do you think our garden is high strung?

 Hmmm .  .  .

Who are you calling high strung?

 What’s your totally frugal but extravagant secret?  C’mon, let us in on it, we won’t tell.

I’m linked to


Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

30 thoughts on “Bamboozling: How to Build a Bamboo Trellis”

  1. Wow! Your garden looks fantastic! Wish I had access to some free bamboo. We have to get ours from Lowes and they don’t always have the sizes I want.

    1. I can almost guarantee that a neighbor (even one you haven’t met yet) needs to thin his bamboo forest. Just keep an eye out. Of course you have to have the kind of gumption that Charlie and our son have to ask for it. They figure nothing ventured nothing gained and they enjoy chatting with people. Of course, if it were up to me, I’d buy it at Lowes, too, then kick myself when the free stuff miraculously showed up. Jo

  2. Thank you so much for the tutorial! your garden looks great! My husband just found some nice bamboo from someone desperate to thin their bamboo forest that posted on craigslist free section. Thanks again!!

    1. Once upon a time Charlie started a traditional-style garden but since it could be seen from the street and the house I asked him to try a square-foot style. We started with just four squares and now it’s 16 which seems to be more than sufficient for us and our friends. Jo

      1. That is fantastic! I bet you get a lot of produce from that. I’m cramming in a 10’x8′ homemade green house that is overgrown. I can barely reach the tomatoes in the back and I have to maneuver between the zucchini plants. Do you use a drip watering system, sprinklers, or just a hose?

      2. Just a hose. This summer we have not needed to water much but Charlie likes to spot water the squares as they need moisture. Jo PS Our squares are 4′ by 4′ separated by 2′ wide paths.

    1. We’re in Maryland. It doesn’t take acres of bamboo just someone who planted it in his backyard and it took over. Look around, you have a neighbor with bamboo. Jo

      1. Now that you mention it I have seen bamboo in the landscape of hotels and Disneyland. And remember someone remarking how quickly they grow and take over. I’ll keep my eyes open for asking opportunities close to home. Thanks! 😊

  3. I started a garden in December 2019, there was a sector in the garden that underwent a modification (they took out a gas tank that we used buried and there was a very ugly hole). From so much reading that people make gardens, and remembering my grandparents, I was able to read and arrange a sector of about 2 square meters (I am in Argentina). I have had several satisfactions and I have made many mistakes. The strawberries are on the floor and the most ripe ones are eaten by little birds before I can rescue them … hahaha. But I love it when I make my salad with my harvest. I will continue to maintain it as long as possible. Thank you very much for the ideas. I am fixing some reeds that I found in the street and I will make a protection so that the sun does not burn them next summer.

    1. So great to hear about your successful garden and the inspiration from your grandparents. Mine and yours knew how to accomplish things that we are just discovering. Here’s to greater success and fewer missteps in the future. Jo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.