List, 2018: January Progress

January, 2018. I was supposed to make some progress on our projects at home but alas my plan was waylaid by the death of my boss and all the details that had to be attended to.

Exertion

The main exertion of January was to pull together all files and financials from the previous year.

I have almost completed our 2017 tax information packet for our accountant.

I’m a little behind but at least all bank accounts are balanced and payroll accounts are reconciled.    W-2s and 1099 wage statements are finished and distributed. Such a relief.

Execution

My plan was to outline our thesis for studying Latin music.  I have researched the history of music in Cuba and look forward to a hands-on approach when we actually visit the island.

We have lessons scheduled at the Havana Music School.

We’re really excited to add salsa, mambo, and cha cha cha to our repertoire and maybe sit in on a few sets while we’re there.

Entertaining

We hosted a Feast of the Epiphany party on January 6.  Lots of fun, food, and fellowship.

A piece of chalk and explanation of the tradition of  “chalking the door” was a simple party favor.

The highlight of the food table was an almond tart called Three Kings’ Cake.

Entertainment

The plan was to listen to lots of musica latina (Latin music).

I listen to CDs in the car and “talk to myself” while driving down the road.

Instead I spent a lot of time listening to Spanish language CDs and working the Duo Lingo app on my phone.  The app says I’m 53% fluent.  That can’t possibly be correct.  However, I am understanding Spanish a little better than I was a month ago.

Exterior Outsourcing 

My doctor prescribed some routine medical tests but I was only able to get to a lab for a blood work-up.

Just routine.

Exercize

I had planned to return to the gym early in the month.  Unfortunately circumstances partnered with laziness prevented my stepping foot in the gym.

A long (for me) hike on a snowy day.

At one point I did take a mile hike on a snowy trail.  It was torture.

How did your first month of the year fare?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “List, 2018: January Progress”

  1. Well, that was a shocking lead in with no further details following. I am sorry for your loss. January was kind of an unkind month, I think. Disturbing news all month, heat pump problem that was fortunately quickly resolved and erratic weather. I’m in better shape than I thought I might be on many levels and it sounds like you, too, are making some headway even though your plans were greatly disrupted.

    1. My boss was quite elderly and in poor health. I continue to work for his estate. He was a a great man and will be missed by many. Jo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.