Replacing the Sunflowers

The sunflowers on the west side of the house started so well.

A wall of sunflowers attracts bees and gold finches.
Most of the sunflowers fell onto the ground.

Then they succumbed to totally soggy ground from major rainstorms.

Some of the sunflowers grew to 8 feet.

Charlie dug them up.

I wanted to put some low shrubs along the house to hide some of the foundation and leave a space behind that can be planted with annuals.

Then he graded the area so any wetness would run away from the foundation. The exposed foundation is about 8 inches tall.

I ordered 7 “Brass Buckles” holly when I purchased the chaste tree.

I had purchased 7 “Brass Buckles” ilex plants when I bought the Chaste Tree for the back yard.

I carefully measured the spacing.

I wasn’t sure if I needed more but I was ready to plant the ones I have 3 feet away from the foundation and 18 inches apart.  They grow to a height of 12 to 18 inches with about the same spread.

The chairs hide newly planted dwarf evergreen holly shrubs.

As this area get hot sun in the afternoon I covered the newly planted shrubs with lounge chairs as a sunshield.

The boxwood fills in a small empty space near the kitchen bump out.

While I was planting I transplanted an English boxwood that I have been nursing along for a few years.

Do you have experience with heather?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Replacing the Sunflowers”

  1. It looks like you are on your way with the foundation plantings. That was clever to shield them with the lounge chairs.

  2. Heaths and heathers groe well out here. I have several that are going bonkers and I need to trim them back. They are easy to shape. I like to mix different color blooms together like a patchwork quilt.

Leave a Reply

