Steel Trap

I’m still counting pollinators. Can you spot the bee flying away from the flower?

In case no one noticed I always have a gazillion  things going on at the same time.  And those are just the things I’m actually doing (or trying to do).

I wanted to see the eclipse totality on August 21 but can’t seem to manage the details.

In the steel trap that is my mind the number is astronomical.

I ordered 7 “Brass Buckles” holly when I purchased the chaste tree.

I have ideas that haven’t even made a written list yet.

A morning hiking in the woods was a nice break.

Recently you read about my pedestrian trip to a water fall and subsequently a fabric store.

I’m hoping we can find the bulk of our foundation plants here.

We also stopped at the large nursery scouring it for foundation plants for the front of the house.

I really like these Helleri Japanese Holly.

Here I think we hit pay dirt. (See what I did there?)

A measured drawing of the front of the house in feet.

So I must draw up a little “to scale” plan of the front of the house. First I’ll have to measure.

We’ve removed the ramp but no other improvements have been made.

Then I’m hoping Charlie will grade the area.

Hoping to paint today.

Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about the shutter project. I’m just waiting for the perfect painting day.

My beautiful sunflowers ended up looking like drunk bums.

And I need to rescue the side of the house from the drunken sunflowers.

Maybe a bench like this in blue or green would work in the conservatory for a coffee table.

Also in the market for a coffee table or coffee table substitute for the conservatory.  Looking for a smallish item, a cheapish item, and an attractive item.  It’s a lot to ask.  I hope I’ll know it when I see it.

Maybe I can make a coffee table from some old windows.

Blah. Blah. Blah. And so forth.

Does your mind bubble forth like an overflowing washing machine?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Steel Trap”

  1. Yes! I’ve been busier than usual the last few months which has resulted in no blog posts and no reading of other’s posts, but this morning I stopped to read this. It’s perfect because yes, my mind is constantly going with what needs to be done. Luckily I can quiet it at night, and lists are a lifesaver!, but there’s always some project that needs finishing or something new that needs to be scheduled. It sounds like you’re on top of things although there’s more to be done. Perhaps this is the fate of creative minds? Enjoy the weekend.

  2. Yes, but ‘bubble’ is too much of a delicate word for my mind. My thoughts are more like fireworks that just keep going off in various colours and magnitudes and they don’t want to quieten down. 😉

Leave a Reply

