Another Small Paint Project

I have been waiting for over a year to paint the oil tank at the back of the house because I wanted to use my paint sprayer.

I brushed on a little house paint a while ago to see how it would look.

I had brushed on some color a while ago and decided a sprayed on finish would ultimately look and wear better.

A patch of shingles behind the tank also had been difficult to reach with a paintbrush so remained unpainted.

So last Saturday morning, bright and early, I started the project.  First I washed and scrubbed the tank itself with enzyme cleaner.

The first few passes of the paint sprayer left some bare splotches.

While it was drying I trudged upstairs and downstairs more than once for the supplies.  As with every project it took me 2 hours to assemble all the various parts of the paint sprayer, the paint, and other items necessary to paint the tank.

The shingles behind the tank were also spray painted.

Thankfully the paint sprayer worked on the first try.  I gave the metal oil tank lots of light coats including the unpainted, hard-to-reach shingles behind the tank.

Camouflaged?

While the tank is still visible it does blend in better with the back of the house.

Late afternoon in the back yard at The Glade.

What’s your camouflage challenge?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Another Small Paint Project”

  1. That was more work than I expected it to be. I was thinking you were going to use a roller. I so relate to trying to find and gather all the tools. It looks good and I know you are happy to cross this off your list.

Leave a Reply

