Blooming Hydrangeas

One month ago I noted the hydrangeas were still growing.

End of May, 2017
End of June, 2017.

Nikko Blue hydrangeas are so welcome for a number of reasons.

A stunning bright blue.
  1.  They look great in the house as a cut flower.

    Hydrangeas almost arrange themselves.
  2. They seem to be bug free.
  3. After the blue fades they becomes burnished burgundy and green.

    The same blue hydrangea as it changes color at the end of summer.
  4. When dried they hold the color they were when cut.
  5. They flourish in the shade.
One day this hedge will fill in and and be a billow of blue.

I’m working on a hydrangea hedge.

What weed is your nemesis?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “Blooming Hydrangeas”

  1. They are really growing well, Jo! Congratulations on your free hedge. I think I will be digging out the wild violets until the day I leave this place or I can no longer bend over.

      1. They spread and form a mat so that nothing else can grow. I too thought they were sweet at the beginning but they are extremely invasive. I like violas but these form a claw type rhizome. They also get little seed pods at the base – no flower there just the seed pod. I hope you don’t rue the day you helped spread them around.

      2. Hmmm. Ours must be a different variety. The grass definitely grows well around them. In fact you can hardly tell they’re there unless they are in bloom. It’s been seven years no and no problems so I think we’re safe.

      3. I also have white violets which I’ve moved to my front garden. They are not nearly as invasive and grown well in the shade. Jo

      4. In spring our violets carpet the yard for about 2 weeks with a lovely blue complemented by some low-growing yellow weed. So beautiful. Jo

    1. I’ve decided that 90% of the violets can stay. You know how I came to that decision. Right? We’re still working on the overwhelming wild grape vines, lush poison ivy, climbing Virginia creeper, and fast-growing weed trees. The battle never ends. Jo

      1. Yep – I have all those pesky things and more. I don’t care about the violets in the grass but my flower beds are full of them, so they are definitely a problem there. One problem weed at a time, I guess, though I do try to get the poison ivy out of the beds when I find it.

    1. I guess have just the right spot. Sunflowers planted nearby are stunted (6 inches tall) while the ones on the other side of the house are 8 feet tall. Each plant has its perfect location, I guess. Jo

  2. These plants look happy! The hedge will be beautiful. Do you use coffee grounds or other fertilizer to make them bluer? I got a little excited pruning my hydrangea this spring, and it has fewer blossoms this year. And they’re rather pink … need more acid. I like them best in the fall when they develop that special complex coloring.

    1. Our soil is acid because we live under oak trees so even our compost unless well-amended with lime is acidic. Ours are really blue — my color. As I understand hydrangeas bloom on old wood so spring pruning needs to be selective. Jo

Leave a Reply

