My Asian Theme

Today I had a beautiful lunch made by our Thai chef.

Crispy spring rolls serves with sweet red sauce.

She made spring rolls to enjoy with salad and squash soup.

The neckline is an unusual u-shape.

The theme started earlier in the week when I received a thank you gift of a beautiful vintage rose silk kimono.

Basting threads are evident at the base of the sleeves.

I don’t think it has ever been worn because the sleeves still have the basting threads in tact.

The interior silk is flowery and bright.

The inside is even more visually spectacular than the exterior.

The rose silk brocade is highlighted with gold threads.

I’m not sure if I should wear it or display it in a shadow box on the wall.

Do you have a favorite Asian food?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “My Asian Theme”

  1. Wow! The kimono is spectacular! I’d display it, because if I wore it, I’d surely spill something on the front. The gorgeous rose color would look beautiful against the blues and greens in your house, especially in your bedroom with those periwinkle walls (at least they look periwinkle on my computer).

    1. They are periwinkle indeed. Imagine my delight when I opened the package. I’ll have to find a wall large enough to display it. Perhaps I’ll move my dresser into another room and put it on that wall. Jo

      1. I was being facetious when I said I’d spill something on it (although I probably would). The real reason I wouldn’t wear it is because I’m not Japanese. This garment is art, and deserves to be treated as such. It’ll look stunning in your bedroom and you’d get to be delighted by it every day!

Leave a Reply

