Inspired at Work

One of my colleagues at work bought flats of flowers to plant on the property there.

Pink, red, and white flowers.

I’ll be interested to see where these are going.

There are 3 of these beautiful iron urns near the parking area.

We always have beautiful gardens and planters at work.

$23 each for these hanging baskets of geraniums.

All this beauty inspired me to shop for some hanging baskets for the new structure at The Cottage.

Two hanging baskets with triple the flowers of the ones above.

After trying Home Depot and Lowes with little success I stopped by a local nursery and for $5 less than each of the Home Depot pots, these magnificent, abundant red geranium hanging baskets caught my eye.

Like the inspiration photo hanging baskets left and right should be just right.

I’m hoping to have them hung by the weekend if the new gable over the door is ready.

What are your favorite flower colors? (Mine are yellow, blue, and white.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Inspired at Work”

  1. The door gable looks really good! I’m glad you found a much better deal on the geraniums. I find it hard to keep hanging baskets watered well. These would also look good in big pots or urns on the ground flanking the door. I seem to like the purple reds or unusual pinks a lot, but really, I don’t think I’ve met a flower I didn’t like.

    1. I have urns one of which I was thinking of planting with a climbing red rose which may not do well in the shade but could be repositioned if necessary. Jo

  2. I love the gable! Can you ask your carpenter to add the same detail to the main gable? I’m a fan of bright pinks, corals, and purples when it comes to flowers … but all flowers are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

