Too Much Paper

I am really good about immediately processing junk mail, bills and magazines.

Catalogs

I don’t actually have a subscription to any magazine but I count the endless catalogs from Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, Ballard Designs, etc.

County comes by once a week for mixed recycling.

I put unwanted advertising straight into our recycling bag in the kitchen.  Bills and other important papers make it upstairs to the “office” in the Diva Room.

One file drawer keeps most current papers safety organized.

Current year paper gets filed in the file cabinet.  Other stuff goes into a box in the attic that holds bills, receipts, and tax returns filed by year. This year, anything older than 10 years is leaving the premises.

This year I’m going to get rid of decades old tax returns.

My plan for the first 10 days of June is to spend at least an hour everyday shredding old documents.

Do I care how much I’m getting rid of?

Should I weigh the paper before I shred it?

Are you on top of your paper clutter?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Too Much Paper”

      1. Oh volume, I think at least for me. I want to reduce the amount of storage and paper so I can once again find things I need. Somehow it was all much easier when I was in my 30s – less time lived, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

