Getting It Done

This weekend we’ve got a variety of goals to accomplish.

The master closet window needs a sill and casing then I can hang a curtain.

First our friend the Viking is back to install window trim.  We have 3 windows still needing casement: the master closet window

The window in the conservatory bathroom is still untrimmed.

and the circular windows in the new showers.

Stickers are still on the window pane.

When the window trim is finished it would be a good time to take the protective film off all windows that still have it on.  Unfortunately Charlie told me the peel-off film is now stuck tight.  I told him I would take care of it. I hope I can.

This solid wood door with 4 lights should fit in the laundry room doorway.

If time allows I’d also like the laundry room door hung.

I’m using swaths of remnant fabric to fiesta-cize the décor.

In the mean time I want to create a money tree, clean and decorate the downstairs bathrooms, make a grocery shopping list for the wedding shower, make a party prep timeline for the shower, clean and straighten the first floor, decorate the mantle and dining room in fiesta fashion.

This plate has a South of the Border vibe.

I plan to use items from around the house like this vase I painted ochre a few years ago and my fish plate.

Now that the violets and buttercups have dissipated it’s time to mow.

I’m sure the lawn will also get it first cutting this weekend.

Party favors — gown boxes hiding a ring pop within.

Busy, busy, busy.

What are you up to?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Getting It Done”

  1. That’s a lot to get done. Good luck with it. I need to start planting plants I’ve purchased. Fortunately they are in small to medium sized pots so I guess I’ve learned something over time. Lawn got mowed during the week for at least the second time. Meanwhile, the house interior further deteriorates.

    1. All our plans don’t work out but we keep plugging along trying to get the house totally functional. The tile is one of the most satisfying parts of our projects. Jo

Leave a Reply

