List, 2017: April Progress

April was a month of progress, pleasure, and plight. We worked on a number of projects:

Progress

Master Closet

Before
The master closet is nearing completion.

The master closet although not complete is well on the way to being finished.  All supplies have been moved to the closet and out of the living room, dining room, and conservatory.  Every weekend in April we — Charlie, my friend and I — did a task or two toward the completion of the master closet.

New Attic Stairs in The Cottage

Before
After

The Cottage tenant had the stairs to the attic replaced with the hide-away, pull-down attic variety.  They are much easier to handle as well as sleeker on the ceiling.  Soon she’ll paint the door to match the ceiling and they’ll all but disappear when in closed position.

Crown Molding in The Cottage

Before
Crown molding has been applied all around the room.

Cornice molding in the Cottage as added a finishing touch to the walls.  The white trim also sets off the pale grey-green of the ceilings.

Charlie’s Garden

At the end of January the garden was barren except for the newly erected greenhouse.
A week of rainy weather should be a great catalyst for the growing garden.

By the end of April plants were well on the way toward feeding us.

Although not on the list for April Charlie got busy in his garden as the time was right.  He pulled weeds, tilled, and planted.

Pleasure

Concert

The Doo Wop Project

The weekend after Easter Charlie and I went to see The Doo Wop Project in concert with the Baltimore Symphony. They’re a group of men who starred in Jersey Boys together singing classic tight harmonies .  They can really sing and apparently love to perform.  Our seats were in the 4th row so we really enjoyed all their antics: singing, dancing, and bantering.

Bridal Shower Planning

We hunted over the entire property and couldn’t find an appropriate spot to whack the piñata so we’re giving it to the bride to use at the wedding.

Finally we’re getting the house ready for a bridal shower.

Party favors are ready.

I have been working on a menu and festive set up for a the party.

Plight

Jury Duty

Hoping I’m not needed.

The week after Easter I was called to jury duty. I checked in for Monday and Tuesday by phone and was not needed. Finally on Tuesday night I checked in once again and was dismissed for the rest of the week.  I never had to go to the courthouse — woo hoo!

Did you have April sun or showers?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “List, 2017: April Progress”

  1. They’ve improved jury duty waiting so much from the way it used to be. There are major accomplishments this month that will keep life in the future much more enjoyable. We got 2 inches of needed rain Saturday night. Now I need to get plants planted – hopefully today. The rain helped me know where to drill small holes in the seats of some plastic outdoor chairs so the water will drain rather than standing and making the chairs look dirty. It was a small task long put off that will be a great benefit in the future.

  2. Ironically, I was thrilled to get called in for jury duty. It was the week before I tiled the bathroom, and normally I commute about an hour each way (though at that time I was staying with my parents only a half hour from work), but that week I walked down from Center City and got something done every day and we were ready to go on Saturday. I think we only had to do like 9-3 too. It was so great. Of course now I’d have a half hour walk or 5 minute subway ride in the morning if I got it again, so it would be even better

    1. Charlie loves jury duty also. I was on a convicting jury once and that was an eye-opener for me. Some of the jurors were unconvinced of the obvious. Jo

      1. Luckily the defendant did a plea bargain on what would have been the last day, so I got 4 days of murder trial, one day when we were dismissed after an hour with an excuse note for the whole work day. And you know, there were a lot of I’s to dot and T’s to cross before tiling around the bathtub.

  3. I was on a discrimination trial jury for six weeks! It was fascinating with an incredible cast of characters. I felt like I’d gotten another job downtown.

Leave a Reply

