Closet Shopping Trip

As we were working on the master closet over the weekend we were stalled by not having enough screws to put the second base together.

Working on the master closet.

So yesterday I made a list of what we need and checked out both the Home Depot and Lowes websites to see which would have more of the items.

Italian White Sunflower seeds have been good in our yard in the past.

Turns out Lowes was the place.  I started in the gardening section because Charlie wanted a new watering wand.  I also bought two packages of Italian White sunflowers to be planted alongside my Lemon Queen variety some of which Charlie planted last week.

I had a variety of items on my list and only a tiny bit of impulse buying.

Then I moved to the closet section where there was a good selection of closet poles.  I decided to buy the long, sturdy brushed metal poles instead of the more lightweight telescoping ones.  I think we can get two sections per long pole.

I think we’ll have 8 hanging poles in the closet.

I also purchased matching end brackets.

This knob is reminiscent of the glass door knobs in the old section of the house.

While looking for 3″-long screws to put the base of the closet together I went down the knobs aisle and purchased 4 faceted crystal-like ball knobs for the two cabinets in the closet and the backs of the closet doors.

Hanger bolts have threads on both sides.

The backs of the doors need a knob because if you close yourself in the closet it’s difficult to open the door from the back. Since I don’t want a screwhead to show from the right side of the door I bought hanger bolts which will go into the knob and then screw into the wood without going through to the other side.

We put the base together with these screws.

I also bought a box of 3-inch screws.

A can of white paint for under $20 will make the closet bright.

Finally I took the can of paint I was using for the closet interior which was marked with a small Lowes logo that was all I could see on the can, everything else had been obliterated by dripping paint.  I would have had enough to finish the project except over the weekend a large wind carried a piece of Styrofoam across the yard and knocked over my can.  A very helpful paint counter representative found exactly the color and type of paint that was in the original can.

Replacing the 4″ foam roller with a 6″ one should make the painting go faster.

I also picked up some 6″ foam fuzzy small roller sleeves. So I had a very beneficial shopping trip at Lowes.

How do you decide where to shop?

I have not been perked nor paid in any way for posting my opinions and choices here.

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Closet Shopping Trip”

  1. Sounds like you’re on a roll now! Funny, I once had some faceted knobs just like that (except brass) in my living room, which you’ll see in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

