Miscalculation and a Start

My calculations for the closet interior were slightly off because I took the measurement of the space from the engineer’s drawings instead of actually measuring the space.

The door would open past the base frame. I know I was in trouble.

The length of the closet is actually 10′-8.5″, not 11 feet, so having a section 10 feet long didn’t allow for the door to fully open.

The frame will run almost the entire length of the wall.

Happily I laid out the base before connecting it together so we can easily cut it down. The hanging towers will also need to be reduced in size.

Somehow I need to remove 6″ from the width of 3 towers.

After the base is assembled and installed I’ll decide whether to reduce each of 3 towers equally or to make one narrower.

Charlie’s side of the bathroom vanity will be tiled.

In the mean time Charlie told me yesterday that the tile setters who are installing 3 backsplashes are scheduled to arrive today.

My side of the master vanity will also be tiled with a 10-inch tall backsplash.

He negotiated a better price than the original quote.

Marble tile and bullnose tiles for the master bathroom.

Can’t wait to post some photos of the progress.

Do you lose count when measuring?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Miscalculation and a Start”

  1. I’m so sorry about the miscalculation. I hope you have a good solution – it will depend on what’s going in the sections, won’t it? Tile work – that will change things. Progress!

  2. Oh no! Measure twice; cut once as they say. However, I often measure twice and cut three or four times, so I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong. I would probably make one tower slightly narrower if I were you.

Leave a Reply

