Looking for Pink Tile

I am searching for some vintage pink tile to replace the broken pieces in our original bathroom.

Crack in the pink bathroom tile.

Aside from asking at The Tile Shop I haven’t really started my search until yesterday.

Community Forklift is easy to find following the directions on its website.

After work I drove to a suburb of Washington DC to a salvage yard called Community Forklift.

Building salvage

They house a supply of building salvage like radiators, doors, windows, furniture, mantel pieces, plumbing fixtures, etc.

Boxes of tile are marked on top with a sample piece of what’s inside.

Since I was specifically searching for tile I sifted carefully through the surplus tile aisle.

If I were looking for white I might have found some.

There was a good supply of vintage white tile including sanitary base and bullnose tiles.

This style of tile came in blue, red, and aqua.

Among the boxes were some interesting mosaics.

This tile would make an interesting project — a bench maybe.

I liked this textured yellow tile.

You don’t see tile like this much — ever.

I was intrigued by the wheat stalk listello. Not my cup of tea but interesting.

Light pink tile — too light.

Finally I spotted just one box of pink tile. I really need bullnoses.

My tiles (left and right) just don’t match.

Unfortunately the tile was neither bullnose nor a good match to the tile in the bathroom. so I passed on the $17.50 box of tile.

Thankfully I don’t need a stove.

I’m sure if I had more time I could find something I can’t live without at Community Forklift.

Do you shop salvage stores?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

14 thoughts on “Looking for Pink Tile”

  1. It’s too soon for this but if you can’t pin down a vintage source, the Irishman had a couple replacement tiles made to order for a job somewhere. It wasn’t cheap though it was of course cheaper than remodeling the bathroom.

      1. I’m pro-retro-pink myself, but if you are not and/or it wasn’t well built that’s an option. Depends on whether you mind another big check more than spending a couple hundred on a couple of tiles.

  2. Too bad you didn’t find what you need there, but it looks like a fascinating place. It would probably be easy to wander there for hours.

  3. I’m pro-retro-pink, too! It might take a while, but I bet if you keep searching, you’ll find your tile. Pink tile bathrooms are becoming extinct. Preserve the pink tile!! 🙂

    1. I’m keeping the pink. Just happy my fixtures are white otherwise the already tiny room would feel like a dose of Pepto Bismol. Jo

Leave a Reply

