The Old Fashioned Rummage Sale

I have held off getting rid of some clutter because I couldn’t come up with a good category for it.

The vintage Singer sewing machine.

Craigslist seemed like a hassle.

Lacrosse sticks

I have reservations about giving things to the Salvation Army or Goodwill.

Punch cups.

These are things I don’t just want to trash.

  • Sewing machine
  • Baskets
  • Lacrosse equipment
  • Picture light
  • Punch cups
  • Batting helmet
  • Juggling sticks
  • Small under-cabinet lighting fixture
  • 2 glass-front cabinets
Handmade cabinets.

So I’m donating them to an upcoming rummage sale at a local church which proceeds will go to fund “Missions”. Charlie has offered to drive the stuff to the collection point.

Art light.

I’m trying to get Charlie on the wagon also.  Hoping he will let me get rid of a few of his items.

Are you waiting for the right opportunity to get started on something?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “The Old Fashioned Rummage Sale”

  1. I agree about not wanting to give things just anywhere. My parents like to donate things to Goodwill because it’s near their house, but I strongly prefer taking things to Habitat or Philly AIDS Thrift knowing that the proceeds go toward something worthwhile.

    And then there was the bit of Salvation Army rejecting my parents’ furniture. That also worked out for the best, maybe, because I negotiated with a place where I used to volunteer to deliver it directly to the family that was to receive it after hours.

    1. We must stay creative in our contributions. Charlie worked at SA for awhile and told me that many things were just pitched in a dumpster, not because they had been sorted and discarded but because there was no more room so whole unchecked items were pitched. Jo

      1. Yeah, now I had a slightly awkward experience taking some of Nana’s stuff to Philly AIDS Thrift where they took a whole box to the free bin on the sidewalk in front of me while I was still bringing things in. But hey, at least someone will get it that way.

  2. Well, I’m sorry to hear that about SA. I thought they were better than Goodwill. And how annoying fro Chad that they couldn’t at least wait to put things in the free bin until he left. Makes you re-think the whole donation thing.

    1. My mother used to donate to a small thrift store which she felt overcharged and so would hand her things out in the parking lot if a likely beneficiary arrived while she was there. Jo

  3. I swore off Goodwill when I donated some perfectly useable clothes, and the guy toss the bag in the truck like it was rags. It split open and the clothes tumbled out. Sorry to hear SA isn’t much better. It’s hard to find someplace convenient when you just want to get the stuff out of the house … but I need to find a thrift that actually wants my stuff. We really do need to yard sale this summer!

    1. Living at the end of a dead end street makes yard sales not very worthwhile for me. I’m a veteran Craigslister but it’s not great for everything. Jo

Leave a Reply

