The Next 4 Weeks

We have 4 weeks until Easter week activities consume both our evening and weekend activities.

The master closet is ready for fitting out.

Since it seems to be too early in the season to count on working on projects outside I’m going to get busy on our master closet.

We won’t need quite this much.

First item of business is to calculate how much lumber the project will take and have it delivered to the house.

We’ll stash the plywood behind the loveseat in the conservatory which should encourage us to git-‘er-dun.

My preliminary estimate is 10 sheets of plywood so we’ll need a spot inside to store the lumber.

We’ve cut other projects outside.

Then we’ll need to cut the lumber (outside) and bring it back into the closet space to assemble it. Our plan is to use pocket screws to hold everything together.

The shelves in the conservatory bathroom were built with pocket screws.

I was all jazzed about getting started right after we finished the shelves in the conservatory bathroom.  Now I’m doubting our ability to pull this off.

The new plan is more complex than this simple preliminary layout.

My project list:

  1. Make a supply list.
  2. Order supplies.
  3. Cut lumber according to plans.
  4. Assemble in closet.
  5. Paint structures.
  6. Attach to wall.
  7. Add hanging poles, hooks, and bins.
  8. Trim the closet door and window.
  9. Install closet light.
  10. Sort clothes and hang them in closet.

I’ve been waiting a long time for a proper closet.  I hope we can pull it together in 4 weeks.

Would you paint the lumber before or after it’s put together?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “The Next 4 Weeks”

  1. I learned an important lesson and will be painting my linen closet with a mini roller. I’d probably roll 2 coats onto all the flat faces and worry about the edges after it’s assembled. I don’t know how good you’re trying to make these look – if there will be edge banding on the fronts and whatnot. Also, if you’re gonna load up the shelves with a lot of stuff you could dado the risers. It’s not that hard. My dad has a dado blade that cuts a half inch at a time.

  2. After all of the DIY projects we get ourselves involved in, and knowing how long it can take us to complete them, I head for IKEA and buy some components that we could assemble. I’m getting over the urge to do it all ourselves. Have you considered that? Even empty, I am so jealous of your closet!

    1. I considered it and maybe I’ll be sorry but I haven’t had a closet for so long I’m dreaming of a custom built-in masterpiece. Am I aiming too high? Jo

Leave a Reply

