Poppy Seed Dressing

I am having a salad bar of sorts for our party on Friday night so I was trying to decide what I should do for salad dressing.

The chef told me to use Colman’s mustard but I couldn’t find it at my local grocery store.

Our chef at work always makes fresh dressing and my favorite is poppy seed.

On Cooking is a textbook for chefs.

He uses a recipe from a culinary text book entitled On Cooking.

Honey, vinegar, and olive oil figure big in this dressing.

The ingredients are:

  • 8 fl oz cider vinegar (I used a mixture of cider vinegar and balsamic.  Red wine vinegar makes a pretty pink dressing.)
  • 6 fl oz honey
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 2 tsp celery leaves, minced

    Minced celery leaves.
  • 1 green onion, white only, minced
  • 8 fl oz vegetable oil
  • 1.5 Tbsp poppy seeds
Honey (sinks to the bottom) and vinegar.

The directions are simple mix everything except the oil and poppy seeds together.

I pour the oil through the hole in the top of the blender.

Beat in the oil by droplets then a thin stream.  I do the mixing in a blender for a creamier texture.

This recipe yields approximately 20 fluid ounces.  Plenty for a party.

Do you have a favorite salad dressing?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Dressing”

  1. Once I realized how easy it is to make dressing, I stopped buying it for good. Poppy seed is too sweet for me. My favorite is super simple. In Venezuela they use freshly squeezed lemon juice with olive oil. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

