Timeline for a Friday Night Party

I’m a little nervous about next week’s surprise party because I work Monday through Friday.

I always make a party plan even if I don't stick to it and post it in a conspicuous spot.
I always make a party plan (even if I don’t stick to it) and post it in a conspicuous spot.

I’m making a detailed timeline so I, too, can enjoy the party once it starts.

Shrimp gumbo, Carrots, Punchbowl Cake (L to R) at a previous party. I provided the carrots.
Shrimp gumbo, Carrots, Punchbowl Cake (L to R) at a previous party. I provided the carrots.

I have a menu of sorts which will be filled in with desserts by some of the attendees.

Menu

  • Beef stew
  • Chicken noodle soup
  • Homemade croutons
  • Vegetable plate with hummus
  • Chopped salad fixings:  lettuce, eggs, avocado, craisins, slivered almonds, cherry tomatoes, chicken breast, shredded cheese.
  • Beverages: Glade Fizz, Coffee, Tea

The original Glade Fizz (which I invented so I should know) is about one (1) part chilled cran-grape to three (3) parts chilled gingerale . You may add ice if you desire.

I had a special message piped onto the cake.
I had a special message piped onto the cake.

But I also need a birthday cake so I ordered it last night. The think I’m expecting about 20 people — give or take so quarter sheet cake should be sufficient.

Thursday: Order cake.

Friday: Go shopping for soup making supplies and staples.

Saturday:

  • Make chicken broth and freeze.

    Chicken broth making is scheduled for Saturday.
    Chicken broth making is scheduled for Saturday.
  • Make ahead any food possible.
  • Declutter and dust and vacuum downstairs.

Sunday: Finish any cleaning and organizing left from Saturday.

Charlie has started to clean by removing everything from the conservatory. Aiiiieeee!
Charlie has started to clean by removing everything from the conservatory. Aiiiieeee!

Monday:  Iron tablecloths and set out decorations.

I have a good selection of tablecloths from which to choose.
I have a good selection of tablecloths from which to choose.

Tuesday: Make Beef Stew.

Wednesday: Set out all dishes for the party. Including glasses and coffee cups.

We'll set up the coffee station on the peninsula.
We’ll set up the coffee station on the peninsula.

Thursday:  Final shopping for salad fixings and fresh food items, including fresh flowers.

The covered item in the center of the mantel is part of my idea for the party's theme.
The covered item in the center of the mantel is part of my idea for the party’s theme.

Parteeee Day!

Before work: Prep salad fixings and chicken soup vegetables.

After work:

  • Pick up the cake on the way home.
  • Set up salad and soup bar.
  • Light candles.

    I have plenty of candles.
    I have plenty of candles.

Guests arriving at 7.

What have I forgotten?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Timeline for a Friday Night Party”

Leave a Reply

