Next Item Leaving

When I finally sat down to use my grandmother’s sewing machine, the one she bought the year I was born, it wouldn’t work for me.

I always loved sewing with this 1950s Singer sewing machine.
I always loved sewing with this 1950s Singer sewing machine.

I had always liked this machine because it would sew through almost any thickness of fabric and it has a knee treadle.

The needle and adjusting screw are just a blur when the machine is running.
The needle and adjusting screw are just a blur when the machine is running.

When I say it wouldn’t work that’s not fully accurate.  The needle would go up and down but I couldn’t set the tension correctly to get it stitching.

The knee treadle is more subtle than a foot pedal.
The knee treadle is more subtle than a foot pedal.

After playing with it for an hour I finally had the thread running and the needle stitching.

The vintage Singer sewing machine resides in a sturdy lift-top table.
The vintage Singer sewing machine resides in a sturdy lift-top table.

After looking up similar machines on Craigslist I decided to list it for $65.

What happens if you can’t give away or sell an item?  Would you throw it away? Or be more patient?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Next Item Leaving”

  1. Well, it would depend on what it was. You are going full steam ahead on this task. I think it gets “easier” as you go along. Sadness but relief, too.

    1. I know exactly what you mean. We want freedom yet we bind ourselves up with old “things”. I’m for a more balanced existence. I’m not getting rid of everything and starting over, however. Jo

  2. I wish that I lived close enough to take it. I’ve always wanted a sewing machine built into a table. I love the look of vintage machines, and their is a sewing machine repairman down the street from my mom.

Leave a Reply

