10 Pieces I’d Like to Get Rid Of

Some things are difficult to let go of.

My drafting table.
My drafting table.

I just sold for a song my drafting table from college and the early days of my career as a set designer.

Marble-Topped End Tables
Marble-Topped End Tables

I’d like to thin out a few more things. (I’ve already let go of my dining room table and my grandmother’s marble topped living room coffee and end tables.) Unfortunately they don’t all historically belong to me. Some are Charlie’s.

  1.  Cedar chest: Charlie refinished this a few years ago when his daughter was married with the intention of giving it to her since it belonged to his mother.  It takes up a lot of room. Hoping to pass it off soon to the next generation.

    Refinished cedar chest ready for the next generation.
    Refinished cedar chest ready for the next generation.
  2. Nested tables: A set of 3 nesting tables that belonged to Charlie’s grandparents.  They look like a product by the Bombay Company.  I would like to post these on Craigslist.

    Nested Tables
    Nested Tables
  3. Sewing machine:  I gave it a good try but my grandmother’s sewing machine is just too much machine for my soon-to-be tidy house.

    The vintage Singer sewing machine resides in a sturdy lift-top table.
    The vintage Singer sewing machine resides in a sturdy lift-top table.
  4.  3 Sleds: Hoping to pass these onto the grandchildren as they come along.

    Nothing says winter like sleds.
    Nothing says winter like sleds.
  5.  2 Handmade Cabinets: Our now-deceased friend made these two glass-front cabinets and gave them to us.  I have tried to work them into our décor but just can’t find the right place for them.  Maybe someone else will have a special spot for signature items.

    I can't find a good place for these cabinets at The Glade.
    I can’t find a good place for these cabinets at The Glade.

I know the list looks like 5 items but in terms of actual pieces there are 10.  I’d be happy to see them gone this year.

How do you pursue your dreams?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “10 Pieces I’d Like to Get Rid Of”

  1. It IS very hard. I pulled some more old work clothes out of the closet this last week. Now I need to gather them all together and let go all the way.

Leave a Reply

