Bye Bye Drafting Table

Remember when I said I didn’t want to part with my drafting table from college?

The drafting table has been cluttering up the porch among other bits of clutter.
The drafting table has been cluttering up the porch among other bits of clutter.

All of your good advice from the end of this post and the fact that I’m tired of seeing it sitting on the porch has given me the impetus to list it for a cheap price, $25, on Craigslist.

This table folds almost flat for travel and storage.
This table folds almost flat for travel and storage.

When a buyer texted and offered $20 I agreed to let it go.

Along with the table I included the parallel and green/cream Vyco which is worth at least $40.
Along with the table I included the parallel and green/cream Vyco which is worth at least $40.

An artist and her husband who had just arrived from Siberia picked it up after dark last night.

Sometimes our street is more like a nightmare than a fairy tale.
Sometimes our street is more like a nightmare than a fairy tale.

The artist described our dark, winding road as “like a fairy tale”.

How would you describe your street?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Bye Bye Drafting Table”

  1. I’m having a moment of silence here for your drafting table. It’s hard to let go of those old parts of our selves, at least for me, but I guess if I can shift my thinking it shows how much my life has changed – that’s a good thing, usually. I’m glad your buyer appreciated your fairy tale road. Who knows how she will incorporate that experience into what she looks for in her own life.

  2. Glad the drafting table is going to an artist! Your road looks charming, except for that big tree. I’d describe my street as needing infrastructure repairs. The old concrete pavement is broken and sinking and the utilities are sinking with it!

Leave a Reply

