Forcing Quince Branches

Our flowering quince bush has grown very large over the past 10 years.

The quince is trying to bloom during the few warm days in the middle of winter in Maryland.
In spring the quince is covered with pink flowers, in summer it’s covered with green leaves.

Before that I transplanted it a lot and it stayed relatively small.

It takes about a week for the blossoms to start blooming on a forced branch.
It takes about a week for the blossoms to start blooming on a forced branch.

I noticed that the unseasonably warm weather was causing a few flowers to open on the bush.

Quince branches are both sculptural and delicate.
Quince branches are both sculptural and delicate.

I decided to cut some branches to take in the house because they are interesting and sculptural.

The sticks blossom more each day.
The sticks blossom more each day.

After about a week the buds began to bloom.

The usually pink blossoms are white.
The usually pink blossoms seem to be whiter than normal.

So springlike.

Do you force flower bushes in the house? (Works with forsythia, pussy willow, etc.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Forcing Quince Branches”

  1. I usually forget. I have a white quince, which I love, and a friend gave me a small sucker for a red quince. The white is in full bloom but the red, which is still very small, is not showing signs of life yet. After seeing yours, I realize my red one is going to get too big for the space it’s in. I think I knew that when I planted it, but you know how that goes. I think I’ll be moving it next winter.

    1. Yes, mine was about 18 inches in diameter for years because I kept moving it but now it’s 6+ feet in diameter. Apparently they grow to be 6-8 feet when fully mature. Jo

Leave a Reply

