Little Red Chair

The Cottage tenant decided she wanted an area for reading .

A comfortable red chair.
A comfortable red chair.

She had seen and tested a chair at Ikea the last time we were there which was comfortable and RED! (For $30 extra she also purchased a white slipcover.)

It was a tight fit in the car, so much so that she had to unbox it at the store and still maneuver it into the car.

The white cabinet will conveniently fit lots of places in the Cottage.
The white cabinet will conveniently fit lots of places in the Cottage.

The cabinet that had been purchased at Ikea which was on the front wall of the Cottage was moved nearer the bed to make space for the LRC (little red chair).

The chair fits in the corner between the front door and side-wall window.
The chair fits in the corner between the front door and side-wall window.

I received a text later with a photo of the chair all set up and the glass and red metal sofa table near it. (The table is very portable so it’s now across the room.)

The pet under the window is my air compressor which my friend is temporarily storing for me.
The pet under the window is my air compressor which my friend is temporarily storing for me.

Everything is really getting Cottage cozy.

Do you like to rearrange your furniture?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Little Red Chair”

  1. I just bought a library chair (similar to the plaid one in my living room) while looking for a desk chair for my dad. I don’t know if this makes me a compulsive shopper yet, but I think I can fit a reading nook into my bedroom after the roommate is out and I put the furniture back where it belongs.

  2. Yes. Moving the furniture around is much better than moving house. I just made a change in my office / spare bedroom, which meant two other rooms had to be re-arranged. So far so good, though sometimes the change doesn’t work and I have to move everything back the way it was.

    1. I hear you. I’m creating an interim move right now which I will not be able to maintain for the long term but need to accommodate new furniture and old furniture until my next party is over. Jo

Leave a Reply

