A Pink Tile Bathroom

Ugh, you say.

Our tiny original bathroom has pink and white wallpaper above the pink tile.
Our tiny original bathroom has pink and white wallpaper above the pink tile.

Our pink tile bathroom is tiny and original to the house.

This crack hasn't always been in the pink bathroom.
This crack hasn’t always been in the pink bathroom.

Unfortunately when we had the additions put on something must have put pressure on this bathroom because a couple of tiles cracked. Naturally they’re in a conspicuous spot.

Vanity lights are reflected in the pink tiles.
Vanity lights are reflected in the pink tiles.

In our boxes of tile I found vintage pink tiles: one designated on the back as “new” and 2 more as “old”.

The old tile matches perfectly -- now I need to find more.
The old tile matches perfectly — now I need to find more.

My plan is to try to find additional vintage pink tiles because I need a bullnose tile.

The tiles under the glass shelf should be bullnosed.
The tiles under the glass shelf should be bullnosed.

As a matter of fact if I can find a half dozen pink bullnose tiles it would be even better since the tiles under the shelf under the mirror should be bullnose but are not. Two have even been carved out to accommodate a former medicine cabinet.

Hoping there's some vintage pink tile in the stock at a local salvage store.
Hoping there’s some vintage pink tile in the stock at a local salvage store.

I’m searching locally first where I hope to be successful.

Where do you find vintage salvage?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

11 thoughts on “A Pink Tile Bathroom”

  1. No, not “ugh!” I love vintage tile bathrooms! We have a salvage place in Seattle that I blogged about that has a tile room similar to what you pictured. Those old tiles are thinner than the tiles in stores these days … and besides. you can’t find new pink tiles anywhere, so salvage is the only way to go. Good luck–I’m glad you’re preserving the pink bath.

    1. I used this blog as a hint of where to begin looking. I’m not against purchasing tiles online but my first preference is finding them locally. Jo

    1. I was looking for something to keep my make-up brushes, lipsticks, etc in in this small bathroom. I found a jewelry box for a dollar at a thrift store. I painted it white then decoupaged a photo of Charlie on the front. It was a photo of both of us but I looked hideous so I cut him out, threw mw away, and glued him to the box. He happens to be wearing a Chinese style shirt so we call this Charlie’s Chinese Chest. I have a similar box Charlie found on the side of the road that needs a makeover. Hmm. Jo

Leave a Reply

