Today I Will . . .

Get papers in order (#96 on my 101 in 1001) and

I started the stair runner back in 2014.
I started the stair runner back in 2014.

work on the stair runner (#5 on my 101 in 101).

I tried hand-powered staples and carpet tacks.
I tried hand-powered staples and carpet tacks.

The runner would look great but I never finished it and over the last 2 years it has not worn well.

I'll try to sew these together then pneumatically tack them to the stairs.
I’ll try to sew these together then pneumatically tack them to the stairs.

My first plan to use individual rugs was not successful.

It will take all my concentration to keep the stripes lined up.
It will take all my concentration to keep the stripes lined up.

Instead I’ve decided to sew the rugs together end on end using a flat-felled seam.

This machine is very precise and will accommodate a thick wad of material or a very fine gauze.
This machine is very precise and will accommodate a thick wad of material or a very fine gauze.

This is just the kind of project for which I’ve been saving my grandmother’s sewing machine circa 1953. It sews bulky fabric together with no problem.

I'm going to start all over again.
I’m going to start all over again.

Sewing together a long enough runner for the steps is my project for today.

This year I'm going to get rid of decades old tax returns.
This year I’m going to get rid of decades old tax returns.

I have also begun separating papers for our tax accountant.

I also have decades of old back statements. Bye-bye.
I also have decades of old back statements. Bye-bye.

But I have piles from previous years that either need a permanent home or need to be shredded.

Three years of bank statements ready to be filed.
Three years of bank statements ready to be filed.

I’m on that, too.

How is your paper clutter contained?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Today I Will . . .”

  1. I make spreadsheets on the computer so that I can shred some of this stuff, especially the utility bills. I’m casting a beady eye at the bank statements, too. I do file those but take them out of the envelope so they are flat and take up less room in the file folder. Investment statements also get put on a spreadsheet. After a year I keep only the year end statement and the others are shredded. I print out the spreadsheets occasionally so I have a paper copy in case something happens to the computer. Have fun!

    1. Wow, Barbara, you’re more organized than I can be. Especially investments, I like to keep proof of each buy/sell. Maybe I’ll rethink that. Jo

  2. Great old Singer! I have a little Singer Featherweight that I sewed on all through college and beyond. It never quits! Also my nearly 40-y-o Kenmore, which is currently buried under Eric’s stuff.

    1. The old Singer runs but wouldn’t make a stitch so instead of fooling with it I pulled out my newer (40-y-o) portable Singer. I made some progress on my project but stopped when the thread continually broke. I think I need a new needle. Jo

Leave a Reply

