List 2017: February Plans

February is my favorite month probably because it’s my birth month and it’s short and it bridges the gap between winter and spring.

The Lion King and Wicked are definitely on our list.
The Lion King and Wicked are definitely on our list.

This February we already have plans for a long weekend in NYC with the express intention of seeing maximum Broadway and off-Broadway shows and possible a cabaret. (This is item #53 from my 101 in 1001.)

The light in question is at the bottom of the eave on the right.
The light in question is at the bottom of the eave on the right.

I also want to align our outdoor flood light so it comes on when someone pulls into the driveway.  It became misaligned while we were painting the house in 2015. Unfortunately we have to pull out the big extension ladder to reach it. Time to be seen again without having to walk in the mud and wave my hands like an idiot.

We have pulled the tile we want to utilize for backsplashes.
We have pulled the tile we want to utilize for backsplashes.

I’m still waiting for a proposal from our tile guy. He said he was a month out when we spoke in January so I hope his crew will start and finish in February.

Trim in the hall ready to be measured, cut, and applied.
Trim in the hall ready to be measured, cut, and applied.

Charlie is trying to install the baseboard trim that has been filling our upstairs hallway for months now.  He complains that he can’t access the other upstairs rooms yet has been dragging his feet on this project. Hoping this will get top priority while I’m at my day job.

The stair runner to the second floor has never been finished.
The stair runner to the second floor has never been finished.

I have 2 personal projects set to start this weekend that only I can do.  More details later.

What’s your favorite month?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “List 2017: February Plans”

  1. Id have a hard time picking a favorite month. There are things I like about all of the. July is high on the list, and it is also my birth month. I’d love to see you while you’re in New York if you have time.

    1. I’ll keep you posted. Our plan is to see as much theatre as possible so we’ll be buying tickets, eating, and sitting in the dark. Jo

  2. My birthday is also in July, but it’s my second-favorite month. My favorite is May, because everything is green and blooming and summer stretches out before me, full of promise.
    I hope Charlie gets that trim installed. Do you ever feel like your remodel will never end? Sometimes I envy people in houses that aren’t being renovated. What do they do with their time??

    1. I know my remodel will never end. I come from a long line of change-it-up decorators. Even my mother always had the next things in mind ready for a change. Since I have miles and miles of both interior and exterior trim to paint I’m pretty sure there will always be a project on the horizon. Jo

Leave a Reply

