Rehanging the Clock

I was trying to think of what to hang in the master bathroom over the toilet and under a new piece of artwork.

Paris map clock
Paris map clock

A loooong time ago I refinished this round clock.

The "clock" I've been using is the grey item next to the blue thing on this shelf.
The “clock” I’ve been using is the grey item next to the blue thing on this shelf.

I had been wanting a clock in the bathroom that I could read the time without my glasses. (I have a small digital timer/clock in there but I can’t see it.)

The chock of wood on the back was not working with a small hook.
The chock of wood on the back was not working with a small hook.

The back of this clock has a block of wood that projects it out from the wall so the first small hook I chose was too small.

The smaller hook would hold the weight of the clock but it wouldn't lie flat against the wall.
The smaller hook would hold the weight of the clock but it wouldn’t lie flat against the wall.

I had to bend the bracket on the back of the clock and use a larger hook in order for it to lie flat on the wall.

Difficult to tell from the photo but the colors actually tie into one another.
Difficult to tell from the photo but the colors actually tie into one another.

So now I have a print of Paris featuring Notre Dame Cathedral and under it is a clock with a map of France, Paris in the center.

I must use the dressing table drawers more efficiently.
I must use the dressing table drawers more efficiently.

I hope the ticking doesn’t drive Charlie crazy.

What household noise bothers you?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Rehanging the Clock”

Leave a Reply

