Looking for a Looking Glass

Due to the position of the light switch and outlet near my dressing table I have been unable to find a suitable mirror.

The light is centered above the dressing table and a wall mirror should be centered under it.
The light is centered above the dressing table and a wall mirror should be centered under it.

From time to time I would check Craigslist, antique stores, resale shops, and catalogs.

 If centered under the light fixture above, the mirror covers the switch.
If centered under the light fixture above, the mirror shouldn’t cover the switch above my dressing table.

Usually the mirrors are too wide.  I need something just about 18 inches wide not made from plastic or resin or other cheap imitations.

Oak trimmed beveled mirror for $34.
Oak trimmed beveled mirror for $34.

Yesterday on Craigslist I saw a vintage 20″ by 38″ mirror at a reasonable price.  Charlie and I went for a drive to pick it up and decided for the price, $34, that I could definitely use it someplace.

I love the arched top and the mirror bevel.
I love the arched top and the mirror bevel.

It fits perfectly above my dressing table without covering  the light switch and plug.

This mirror weighs a lot -- at least 20 pounds.
This mirror weighs a lot — at least 20 pounds.

For now it’s just leaning against the wall, tomorrow we’ll hang it

Do you furnish a room all at once or collect just the right pieces?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Looking for a Looking Glass”

  1. I like it. But then, I seem to be a mirror addict. Once I realized that it helped to put the brakes on acquisition mode. How lucky for you to find such a nice mirror for such a nice price that fits the space so well. I enjoy coming across things over time that will fill a need and fit a space nicely.

    1. And the mirror itself is in perfect condition. My other antique mirrors have a little damage to the silvering which I don’t mind but I prefer no damage. Jo

Leave a Reply

