Textile Upgrades

While we were shopping at Ikea last week I bought some new textiles.

The linen duvet cover comes in white and natural depending upon what your local Ikea carries.
The linen duvet cover comes in white and natural depending upon what your local Ikea carries.

I love linen so I looked at Ikea’s linen duvet cover which comes with 2 pillow shams.

We'd been using a dark grey cotton piqué cover that I previously dyed.
We’d been using a dark grey cotton piqué cover that I previously dyed.

Our old duvet cover was getting worn.  That’s not to say we will never use it again.

The down comforter is folded in thirds at the foot of the bed.
The down comforter is folded in thirds at the foot of the bed.

I was actually looking for the white cover which was out-of-stock so ended up with the natural linen color.

This photo has a truest color of the duvet against white bedding.
This photo has a truest color of the duvet against white bedding.

I ironed it and inserted our down comforter. The comforter is stored at the end of our bed and used nightly during chilly weather.

I dyed light greige textured plisse curtains.
I dyed light greige textured plisse curtains.

The other change is living room curtains which I have never really cared for since I dyed them.  Here I was going for the natural linen which was out-of-stock also.

Aina linen curtains come in a variety of colors.
Aina linen curtains come in a variety of colors.

I decided to get the creamy white ones which look nice with the white Ektorp sofa cover.

These white curtains were too white.
These white curtains were too white.

I had white curtains before but they were too white so I dyed them and then they were too brown.

Before
Before
In the moringin
In the morning the new curtains look better with the white sofa cover.
In the evening the new curtains look better with the white sofa cover.
In the evening the new curtains look better with the white sofa cover.

Perhaps the old curtains will look good in the bedroom.

They just puddle onto the floor.
They just puddle onto the floor.

I’ll be making the switcheroo soon.

Do you constantly change things around?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Textile Upgrades”

  1. It’s funny that you were going for white in the bedroom and ended up with natural and for natural in the living room and ended up with white. I think the white curtains look much better in the living room. They brighten the space.

    1. Sometimes things work in a serendipitous way. They had fabric like the natural linen curtains and it would have been too golden for my living room anyway. Jo

  2. I like the color of the duvet cover on the bed. The curtains look good, too. If the old curtains don’t work in the bedroom, you might find another use for them. I had to move a table out of the living room for Christmas. Though I loved it in the living room, it looks good in its new home and the living room looks better, too. A little more room to breathe, I guess.

Leave a Reply

