Hard to Buy For

There’s one person in the family who is very hard to buy for.

The yard needs to be landscaped.
The yard needs to be landscaped but that would be a difficult gift.

That person is me.

My sister gifted me with a fabulous set of embroidered white towels.
My sister gifted me with a fabulous set of embroidered white towels for Christmas.

I don’t have a list of items at various price points that I’d like to have.

A friend at work embellished the edge of these kitchen towels with a bit of crochet -- I love a handmade gift.
A friend at work embellished the edge of these kitchen towels with a bit of crochet just for me– I love a handmade gift.

I wouldn’t even really know what to put on the list because I already have everything I need.

I love lavender and rosemary.
I love lavender and rosemary.

If I had to choose ten things:

  1. New wash cloths.

    A dozen clean white washcloths would be extravagant. Two dozen -- even better.
    A dozen clean white washcloths would be extravagant. Two dozen — even better.
  2. Fresh flowers.

    I especially love white roses.
    I especially love white roses.
  3. Shalimar

    Shalimar - My Signature Perfume - I have a few empty bottles.
    Shalimar – My Signature Perfume – I have a few empty bottles.
  4. Gym clothes

    I like charcoal grey clothes at the gym.
    I like charcoal grey clothes at the gym.
  5. Microsoft Surface Tablet

    We'll be needing a new computer soon.
    We’ll be needing a new computer soon.
  6. New small sound system.

    A Bose system is compact but relatively expensive.
    A Bose system is compact but relatively expensive.
  7. Pale pink king size sheets.

    Pink sheets are rare -- now they're usually peach.
    Pink sheets are rare — now they’re usually peach.
  8. Cashmere sweaters in any color.

    I received this beautiful sweater for Christmas.
    I received this beautiful sweater for Christmas.
  9. Olive oil.

    5 liters of olive oil shipped fresh from Italy.
    5 liters of olive oil shipped fresh from Italy was a welcome gift this year.
  10. A long weekend in NYC.
    I know I could find 4 shows to see while I'm there.
    I know I could find 4 shows to see while I’m there.

    It’s an extravagant list, I know.  And part of it has already been fulfilled. Apparently my family already knows what I like.

    What item would be on your list?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Hard to Buy For”

  1. Ha! You have a nice list of assorted price ranges. I have everything I need and more, too. In fact, maybe I’ll start giving away some of my things to family on my birthday. The problem with that solution is that only one of my two sisters lives where I do. I did manage to offload to her a nice little vase that I’ve been wanting to release for several years but was too good to donate.

  2. I agree too! This Christmas I only asked for a few things (and nothing was even a necessity) and we ended up receiving gifts that would fulfill a group of people four times our size. I felt overwhelmed, especially because I am trying to downsize the “things.” (I like your phrase of being in the “release mode.”)

    I keep an Amazon wishlist for me and a separate one for the kids, mostly so I remember things I would like to buy for us (sometimes I forget that I want an extra clothes drying rack or find a book I want to get the kids so I add it to the list) but it also doubles as a gift list for my family members. That way they can look on there to see what we want/need instead of trying to guess.

    I like your list too – a good range of items! Happy New Year!

  3. My word for release mode is “deacquisitioning.” Like most of us at this stage of our lives, we have way too much stuff. Eric and I told each other what we wanted for gifts, so they were no surprise, but appreciated. He gave me a nice pair of Bose Bluetooth headphones and I gave him a backpack camera bag. It’s better that way.

Leave a Reply

