Before and After Painted Doors

I finished painting the doors on the first floor. The color is Benjamin Moore’s “Secret”.

I only had to paint one side and the edges of the basement door.
I only had to paint one side and the edges of the basement door.

Some I painted while they were still hanging.

The powder room door blocked the mudroom hall all day while I painted 2 coats on both sides.
The powder room door blocked the mudroom hall all day while I painted 2 coats on both sides.

I took the powder room door down and painted it on the floor.

The old brass knob for the bathroom door is worn beyond repair and not in a charming way.
The old brass knob for the bathroom door is worn beyond repair and not in a charming way.

This was one of the original doors to the house so I removed the doorknob with the intention of painting it “charcoal metallic“. I’m hoping to do that today since the temperature is supposed to go above 60 degrees.

Before and after -- powder room door
Before and after — powder room door

Powder room door in the front hall.

Basement door before and after
Basement door before and after

Basement door in the kitchen hall before and after.

What are you painting?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Before and After Painted Doors”

  1. Great job, Jo. I love updating metal fixtures with spray paint. It’s like getting new hardware for free, well, except for the cost of the paint. How much of the metallic charcoal do you have left? Any new contenders once you run out of that discontinued color?

    1. I have about 3 cans. I think it was replaced with metallic black — not sure. I should be able to come up with something but metallic charcoal is very lustrous. Jo

  2. How long do you have to let the doors cure before you can close them without marring the paint? That’s always a problem for me. I’m slogging through painting all the dining room wood semi-gloss white and it’s taking forever. It really brightens things up! Wowser!

    1. I leave the doors ajar as long as I can. Even if I need to close them for a time (like the bathroom door) I leave them open after that. I’m using a satin finish on the doors which I think cures faster than semi-gloss especially if painted on with a foam roller which gives a thin coat of paint. All that said, a week should surely do it. Jo

Leave a Reply

