Sprays and Bouquets

With Christmas on the immediate horizon I knew I had to get with it or give it up.

White roses with a pale pink tint.
White roses with a pale pink tint.

I stopped by my favorite flower purveyor, Safeway grocery store, and picked up 3 dozen white roses for $27 and change.

Pine, holly, and magnolia.
Pine, holly, and magnolia.

I hurried home and brought in the magnolia leaves, holly, pine boughs, and pine cones that had been piling up on the porch waiting for me to create some holiday arrangements.

The greens are held together with lightweight wire.
The greens are held together with lightweight wire.

First I started making some simple sprays for our exterior doors.

 Cottage spray with red balls and turquoise ribbon to match the Cottage's interior.
Cottage spray with red balls and turquoise ribbon to match the Cottage’s interior.

Even the Cottage got in the act.

I've been saving these Christmassy details and now I'm using them.
I’ve been saving these Christmassy details and now I’m using them.

I also made a spray for the porch door with a red feather cardinal in a little nest and a glittery gold cross.

The side door is our main entrance but I'll also be making a spray for the front door.
The side door is our main entrance but I’ll also be making a spray for the front door.

The side porch is still wants to be decluttered but I can’t resist the urge to give it some Christmas style.

A few branches go a long way for decorations.
A few branches go a long way for decorations.

I have plenty of greens remaining to spread around the house on the mantel, with the roses, and on the dining room table.

Do you arrange your own flowers and greens?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

1 thought on “Sprays and Bouquets”

Leave a Reply

