Unfamiliar Supplies

I’m not a baker.  I don’t have the patience for making dozens of a thing.

Ms. 120% made the tiny tea sandwiches for my tea parties.
Ms. 120% made the tiny tea sandwiches for my tea parties.

Happily my Cottage tenant is a good collaborator.  We’re known as Ms. 80% and Ms. 120%.  I’m the 80 percenter.

A display of gel food coloring.
A display of gel food coloring.

In preparation for a morning of baking today I bought some supplies with which I’m unfamiliar.

Meringue powder comes in a small jar.
Meringue powder comes in a small jar.
  • Meringue powder – a fine white powder made from dried egg whites, with cornstarch to keep it from clumping while stored and some food gums to help it bind together easily when it is being used. The powder can be reconstituted with water and forms up into a nice, fluffy meringue when beaten at a high speed. It is primarily used to make royal icing, as it adds a lot of stability to the frosting and a nice texture. The reason that it is used in royal icing is that many older recipes for the stiff icing called for raw egg whites and the meringue powder is a good substitution for them.
I also saw royal icing mix which I think is meringue power with powdered sugar in it.
I also saw royal icing mix which I think is meringue powder with powdered sugar in it.
  • Gel food coloring -liquid gel food colorings typically come in small bottles that contain a viscous, thick gel-type liquid.
    I planned to buy both black and white food coloring.
    I planned to buy both black and white food coloring.

    The texture is due to its glycerine and/or corn syrup base, and the color is also more concentrated than liquid food dyes.

Paper cups
Paper cups

I also bought some paper cups which are not easy to find nowadays for a project I saw here and did here.

One week until Christmas. What are you working on?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Unfamiliar Supplies”

  1. Boy, Jo, I just can’t imagine you as an 80 percenter! It sounds like you and your tenant make a good pair. I am also unfamiliar with these baking supplies and I imagine I will stay that way except for reading your blog. I got my two exterior doors painted inside and out. So glad I can cross that off the list, except for a little touch up on the inside of the front door.

  2. I’ll be lucky if I get some Xmas cookies baked this year! I just cleared all the plaster repair supplies and paint buckets off the fireplace so now I can clean it up, maybe add some simple decorations that are easy to remove if I want to paint. We can have a fire on Xmas eve now!

  3. I used to love making Christmas cookies but I haven’t gotten to it the last few years. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll have a little time on Tuesday. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

