3 More Items Complete

Last week’s short list of things to get done was once again finished before the weekend was out.

I've been wanting a mirror on the wall where the trim is leaning.
I’ve been wanting a mirror on the wall where the trim is leaning.

The first project on the list was the last one I actually tackled. I wanted to hang a mirror on the master bathroom hall wall.

A set of clips -- $10.
A set of clips — $10.

I didn’t want to put it up with plastic clips so I went searching the internet and came up with these metal, spring-loaded ones that are sold in Home Depot. (They’re in the bathroom section.)

Spring action top mirror clip.
Spring action top mirror clip.

After marking level placement on the wall I easily screwed in the bottom clips and then marked the placement of the top clips which are the only ones with the spring action.

The mirror reflects the round window in the shower.
The mirror reflects the round window in the shower.

A beveled, full-length mirror I had on hand easily pushed up the top clips so it could sit snugly on the bottom ones.

I found both red, white, black and grey afghans and hung one on the back of the matching blue living room chairs.
I found both red, white, black and grey afghans and hung one on the back of each of the matching blue living room chairs.

The easiest item on my list was finding the Navajo blanket patterned afghans my grandmother had crocheted.

The camels are arriving from the east.
The camels are arriving from the east.

While I was rummaging around I decided to lay a plaid throw over the dining room table and put out the olivewood crèche.

The door on the right of the hallway needs to be painted.
The door on the right of the hallway needs to be painted.
The door color is Secret by Benjamin Moore.
The door color is Secret by Benjamin Moore.

Finally I wanted to get started painting some interior doors.

I even put a robe hook on the back of the door.
I even put a robe hook on the back of the door.

I began with the master bathroom door which is now finished on both sides with Benjamin Moore “Secret”.

The air conditioner needs to go to the attic!
The air conditioner needs to go to the attic!

Charlie has moved this misplaced air conditioner from the bathroom doorway to the attic.

How’s your weather?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “3 More Items Complete”

  1. Hey, you did good, Jo! Charlie too. Maybe short lists are the way to go? It seems to be working for me, too. Love the spring loaded mirror clip – what a great invention. Looks foggy out there this morning so I’m taking my coffee out – I think it’s warm enough with a heavy robe.

    1. Nice, Barbara. It’s warmer here, too, but not that warm. Trying to come up with a doable short list for this weekend although I have a lot on my plate already. Jo

  2. OMG, my grandma had one of those wooden camel trains. Thanks for the memory! Weather is bone-chilling cold by NW standards–around freezing, but dry. I worry about the kitties who are stuck outside.

Leave a Reply

