Plan: Paint 1 Door

Though my plan was to paint the door to the master bathroom I ended up partially painting 2 more.

I removed the door from its hinges because I prefer to paint doors horizontally.
I removed the door from its hinges because I prefer to paint doors horizontally.

I put my future closet to good use as a painting studio by laying down a drop cloth and dragging in 2 sawhorses.

I'm using a Benjamin Moore color: Secret.
I’m using a Benjamin Moore color: Secret.

I used a 4-inch brush and a foam roller to apply the paint. I stroked it on with the brush and smoothed it with the roller.  I also have a detail brush to work around the hinges and knob (which I loosened to simplify the painting).

I always seem to begin in the middle.
I always seem to begin in the middle.

I don’t enjoy painting doors because both sides must be painted.  While one side was drying I started painting the other bedroom door and the door to the conservatory bathroom.

The door color is similar to the color on the bottom of the linen closet which I custom mixed but a little cooler.
The door color is similar to the color on the bottom of the linen closet which I custom mixed but a little cooler.

The doors take 2 coats of paint on each side.

Before
Before
After
After

Now the door(s) look finished.

The hallway in the master bedroom leads to the bathroom.
The hallway in the master bedroom leads to the bathroom.

The master suite hallway has a lot of details still needing attention:

  •  Hang robe hook on the back of the bathroom door.
  •  Install baseboard.
  • Install a doorstop.
  • Stain the closet doors.

How’s your painting coming along?  Does something need a fresh coat?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Plan: Paint 1 Door”

  1. Oh, yes, I have the new exterior metal door, which came primed. I’ll have to paint it while it’s hung and do the inside first while waiting for warmer days to do the outside. Actually it opens inward and there’s a storm door so I might not have to wait too long. It opens into the carport so it’s not exposed to weather. I also want to paint the front door, which is one of those thick wood doors. Same thing, I think I’ll paint while it’s still hung. Your inside doors have inspired me to think differently about my interior doors, too.

    1. I found that once I got started it wasn’t the dreaded job I though it would be. That’s most jobs for me. Although I’m pretty sure painting inside trim in the entire house is going to be a bear. Jo

  2. The gray doors are beautiful! I have may doors to paint in this house–I always seem to put it off because taking them down is a hassle. I like to paint them horizontally, too.

Leave a Reply

