Winter Unfinished Projects

I have a few projects that I’ve started which have never been finished.

The windowseat in the dining room collects clutter.
The windowseat in the dining room collects clutter.

Some are over a decade old.

The master closet is ready for fitting out.
The master closet is ready for fitting out.

I’m challenging myself to finish our top five unfinished projects.

The play castle.
The play castle.
  1. Living room curtains:
    About 3 of 20 pleats are actually finished in the living room curtains.
    About 3 of 20 pleats are actually finished in the living room curtains.

    The curtains are finished except for the pleats at the top and hems at the bottom.

  2. Windowseat cushions:
    The center cushion of the windowseat has never been upholstered like the other two.
    The center cushion of the windowseat has never been upholstered like the other two.

    This is an extremely old project that I’ve been putting off.  When I get out the sewing machine for the curtains I pledge to finish these cushion covers.

  3. Tile backsplashes in the bathrooms:
    The conservatory sink will get a backsplash to match the shower tile.
    The conservatory sink will get a backsplash to match the shower tile.

    I’ve chosen tile for both rooms.

    The Cottage kitchen could use a tile backsplash.
    The Cottage kitchen could use a tile backsplash.

    Perhaps we’ll also add a tile backsplash in the Cottage kitchen.

  4. Master suite closet:
    I redrafted this preliminary design to simplify it.
    I redrafted this preliminary design to simplify it.

    I have a workable plan, I just need to order lumber and get to work.

  5. Repair, repaint, and rehabilitate the play castle:
    The castle could use an update inside and out.
    The castle could use an update inside and out.

    Over years of storage the castle has some cracks and breaks.  It needs to be repaired and painted, perhaps with a new color scheme.

These projects should keep me busy. I’m planning to enlist some other helpers though to work some magic on these various projects.

Do you like to have a team or do you prefer to work alone?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Winter Unfinished Projects”

  1. You will really accomplish something when these projects are completed. They probably sap a little energy each day – or maybe not? I’ve got a few of these floating around, too.

  2. Every time I see that castle, I feel like a little kid again! It’s really special and has so much décor potential! (It needs some tiny-leafed vines trailing down the walls.) Once again I am envious of your closet. If it were in my house, it would be on top of the list because it would solve so many storage problems! Just get started … and good luck!

  3. I agree with D’Arcy H, I would finish up that closet because that’s a lot of storage space! The castle is awesome and looks like a fun cold winter weekend project. I always wonder why I put off projects like these. They’re not huge projects but it makes a huge difference when they’re done. When I painted my walls, I had 3 holes that I needed to fill and had to wait for the plaster stuff to dry. I left them for months and they literally took less than 5 minutes to paint when I finally got to it. I have no idea why I kept putting it off.

Leave a Reply

