Christmas Laser

I wasn’t exactly cleaning my office when I noticed a box somebody had put on my chair.

I thought this was some kind of speaker or security system.
I thought this was some kind of speaker or security system.

The box contained the above item which looked like a lot of nothing to me.

Actually it projects red light and/or green lights.
It projects red light and/or green lights.

The farm manager came to my office for his paycheck and told me this is a laser that projects tiny specks of light.

The laser can glow red.
The laser can glow red.

I put it in the front yard but the short cord allowed only limited coverage.

I especially like the green lights.
I especially like the green lights.

We hooked it to an extension cord so it could be positioned farther away from the house.

The easiest decoration ever.
The easiest decoration ever.

The laser can blink (which I find annoying), turns itself off in 8 hours and comes back on the next day at nightfall.

Do you decorate outside?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

12 thoughts on “Christmas Laser”

  1. Cool! No, I started hanging icicle lights in the carport the first winter I was here but when I plugged them in the outlet sparked a little and I retreated quickly from that new adventure. I may not even put the tree up this year – limited time, space and energy.

  2. Part of me wants to put up my grandfather’s big, inefficient C-9 lights. The abundant homemade electrical tape splices (and the fact that the whole block could burn down along with my house) are holding me back. I do have a bit of sentimental attachment to them though.

    1. I LOVE C9 lights! One year I had the house outlined in them–magic!–and nothing since has ever done the trick for me. But like you said, dangerous and inefficient. I’ve tried to find a modern equivalent to use on my tree, but anything new is too bright and lacks the mellow glow.

      1. Indoor lights are C-7’s, the size of nightlights. C-9’s are chandelier size and only used outside. And yes, the LED knockoffs suck. I wouldn’t worry too much about this type of light being dangerous but all the electrical tape where he cut out a bad socket and spliced in a piece salvaged from an older string… I think that memory has to live on only in photographic form.

Leave a Reply

