Greenhouse for a Gift?

I’m thinking of getting a gift of a greenhouse for a special gardener.

The smallest greenhouse is 6' across the front by 4' deep.
The smallest greenhouse is 6′ across the front by 4′ deep.

I need some advice though.

The next size adds a 2 foot panel to the depth: 6 feet by 6 feet.
The next size adds a 2 foot panel to the depth: 6 feet by 6 feet.

The same size house costs $100 more in green than it does in silver.

A 6' by 8' house is the largest I would consider.
A 6′ by 8′ house is the largest I would consider.

Naturally I like the green one better.

The not-pictured 6-foot greenhouse has 3 side panels.
The not-pictured 6-foot greenhouse has 3 side panels.

I have a choice of 6 feet by 4 feet, 6 feet by 6 feet, 6 feet by 8 feet.

We would have to find a space near the garden for the green house. The smallest one would fit in one of the squares.
We would have to find a space near the garden for the green house. The smallest one would almost fit in one of the squares.

Which would you choose?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

16 thoughts on “Greenhouse for a Gift?”

  1. Well, that’s a tough one. I think the gardener almost needs to be involved in the decision. Too small and it will be worthless – too big and it’s a lot of wasted yard space, though the gardener could probably fill it after some pondering. Good luck!

  2. Hmm, I like the idea. There used to be a greenhouse attached to the back of my parents’ house though the back door didn’t connect directly to it. Later someone tore it off but there was still a low block wall that the greenhouse used to sit on. So they filled that with sand and put an awkwardly raised brick patio on it, then built a wood deck that butted up to the patio over the original back steps. I would love to have seen the greenhouse in action. The deck-patio configuration was awful.

    As for size and color of the greenhouse, I’m $100 for a painted finish that you like better is probably a drop in the bucket. So is 24 square feet of lawn, the difference in size between the smallest and largest greenhouses. But I’m guessing the cost of making it bigger would not be a drop in the bucket. I think 6×6 would be a good size, similar to a typical bathroom in just about any house that’s older than I am.

    Also, I thought it was generous of me to get my parents fancy knobs for their 3 downstairs interior doors until I saw this post.

    1. The greenhouse is not as expensive as you might imagine. As for your fancy knobs: the perfectly sought gift is often superior to the more expensive one. Jo

  3. What an awesome gift! I’d go with the bigger one because I know you’ll want a little space, too … and space fills up so fast. I like the silver. My grandparents were florists with extensive big greenhouses (heaven to play in as a kid), and the silver framing looks more “authentic” to me. But that’s just me!

  4. I’m a bit slow, but glad you bought the green one! It looks better and also the texture of the panels will give the plants a little more protection from the sun. I would have said get the biggest one, but that’s a gardener’s opinion. 😉

      1. The recipient carried it into the house and there was a picture of a greenhouse on the box. No longer a surprise. Jo

Leave a Reply

