Double Fail

Number 4 on yesterday’s list was to find a robe hook for the conservatory bathroom.

I want a hook near the shower.
I want a hook near the shower.

I want to hang a sturdy hook because my terrycloth bathrobe is heavy.

A ceramic frog hook.
A ceramic frog hook.

My first choice was a ceramic frog which was a gift.

The hook is crooked when hanging on a nail.
The hook is crooked when hanging on a nail.

I didn’t think it would work because the hook is kind of fragile.  The real reason it doesn’t work is because when I hung it by the hole on a nail it tilted sideways.

The Hobby Lobby mermaid costs about $4.
The Hobby Lobby mermaid costs about $4.

So I went shopping at Marshalls, Home Goods, Etsy, and Hobby Lobby to find a more appropriate hook. I finally settled on an iron mermaid from Hobby Lobby.  Her tail is the hook.

The mermaid hook is the right style of rustic.
The mermaid hook is the right style of rustic.

I’m afraid the mermaid won’t work either because she hangs on a loop on her back which does not keep the hook stable against the wall.

Maybe a blue hook would be better. I almost bought one.
Maybe a blue hook would be better. I almost bought one.

I’ll just have to keep looking but I’ll leave the scaly lady in place for now.

Any suggestions?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Double Fail”

  1. How frustrating. I really like the mermaid, too, so that’s too bad. I think it might need to be a hook that get’s screwed into the wood – maybe one with two screws to keep it secure and stabile. Good luck with your search.

  2. That seems like a particularly poor design. I wonder how anyone thought that would be a good way to hang a hook. Can you send her back? At least now you know to check how the hook affixes to the wall before buying it.

  3. Have you tried looking at antique shops? I discovered that when I’m looking for a hook, that’s the best place. They are solid, sturdy, and usually more practical than the newer decorative ones. You can find them in all sorts of designs – of course, I’m usually looking for the horse shaped ones!

Leave a Reply

